List of the Major Railways Zones in India

08-SEP-2017 16:20

The Indian Railways is divided into 1 Zones and around 73 sub-divisional Zonal headquarter. North Zone is the largest Railway Zone of Indian Railways. There are three types of rail lines in India: Broad Gauge; Meter Gauge; and Narrow Gauge.

Indian Railway Zone

Here, we are giving the list of the Major Railways Zones in India which can be used as quick revision GK study material in the preparation of different competitive examinations is given below:

List of the Major Railways Zones in India

Railway Zone

Zonal Headquarter


Central Railway


1. Mumbai
2. Nagpur
3. Bhusawal
4. Pune
5. Sholapur 

Eastern Railway


1. Howrah-I
2. Howrah-II
3. Sealdah
4. Malda
5. Asansol
6. Chitaranjan

East Central Railway


1. Danapur
2. Mugalsarai
3. Dhanbad
4. Sonpur
5. Samastipur

East Coast Railway


1.  Khurda Road
2. Waltair
3. Sambhalpur

Northern Railway

Baroda House, New Delhi

1. Delhi-I
2. Delhi-II
3. Ambala
4. Moradabad
5. Lucknow
6. Firozpur

North Central  Railway


1. Allahabad
2. Jhansi
3. Agra

North Eastern  Railway


1. Izzatnagar
2. Lucknow
3. Varanasi
4. DLW

North Frontier  Railway

Maligaon, Guwahati

1. Katihar
2. Alipurduar
3. Rangiya
4. Lumding
5. Tinsukhia

North Western Railway


1. Jaipur
2. Jodhpur
3. Bikaner
4. Ajmer

Southern  Railway


1. Chennai
2. Madurai
3. Palghat
4. Trichy
5. Trivendrum

South Central Railway


1. Secunderabad
2. Hyderabad
3. Guntakal
4. Vijaywada
5. Nanded

South Eastern Railway

Garden Reach, Kolkata

1. Kharagpur
2. Adra
3. Chakradharpur
4. Ranchi
5. Shalimar

South East Central  Railway


1. Bilaspur
2. Nagpur
3. Raipur

South Western Railway


1. Bangalore
2. Mysore
3. Hubli

Western Railway

Mumbai CST

1. BCT
2. Vadodara
3. Ahmedabad
4. Ratlam
5. Rajkot
6. Bhavnagar

West Central Railway


1. Jabalpur
2. Bhopal
3. Kota

Kolkata Metro


1. Kolkata Metro

First train in India was started by Lord Dalhousie on April 16, 1853 from Bombay to thane (34 Kms). Indian Railways was nationalised in 1950 and presently, it is the largest Railway Network in Asia and second largest in the world. In the above list of the Major Railways Zones in India that will help the aspirants to attune and equipped for examinations like UPSC, IAS, SSC, CDS, NDA, Railways etc.

Economic Geography

Show Full Article

Register to get FREE updates

All Fields Mandatory
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2017 Jagran Prakashan Limited.