CBSE Class 9 Science, Diversity in Living Organisms: Chapter notes (Part-II)

This article brings you the CBSE Class 9 Science notes on chapter 7 ‘Diversity in Living Organisms’ (Part-II). These chapter notes are prepared by the subject experts and cover every important topic from the chapter. At the end of the notes, you can try the questions asked from the discussed set of topics. These questions will help you to track your preparation level and get a hold on the subject.

In the previous part, i.e., CBSE Class 9 Science notes on chapter 7 ‘Diversity in Living Organisms’ (Part-I), the main topics discussed were: Biodiversity, Classification, Rober H. Whittaker’s five kingdom classification. Further topics are discussed here.

Also Read: CBSE Class 9 Science, Diversity in Living Organisms: Chapter notes (Part-I)

Main topics covered in this part of CBSE Class 9 Science,  Diversity in Living Organisms: Chapter Notes, are:

Also Read: CBSE Class 9 Complete Study Material for 2020-2021

Key notes for Chapter-Diversity in Living Organisms, are:

Classification of Kingdom Plantae:

Kingdom Plantae can be further classified into five divisions. Their key characteristics are given below:

1. Thallophyta: 

2. Bryophyta:

CBSE Class 9 Science Syllabus 2020-2021

3. Pteridophyta:

Note: Plants of rest of the divisions bear seeds and hence are called phanerogams.

4. Gymnosperms:

5. Angiosperms:

(b) Dicotyledonous: Seeds have two cotyledons. For example: Mustard, gram, mango, etc.

Try the following questions:

Q1. Write names of few thallophytes. 

Q2. What are Phanerogams? 

Q3. Differentiate between Gymnosperms and Angiosperms on the basis of fruits.
Q4. Give three points of difference between monocot and dicot plants.

Q5. How are Pteridophytes different from Phanerogams?

Classification of Kingdom Animalia

Kingdom Animalia is further classified into different phylum. Their key characteristics are given below:

1. Porifera: 

2. Coelenterata: 

3. Platyhelminthes: 

4. Nematohelminthes: 

5. Annelida: 

6. Arthropoda: 

7. Mollusca: 

8. Echinodermata: 

9. Chordata: 

Chrodata is further divided into two groups as explained below:

A. Protochordata: 

B. Vertebrata:

Vertebrates are further divided into two main classes, viz. pisces and tetrapoda.

(a) Pisces: 

(b) Tetrapoda: 

Tetrapoda is again divided into four classes, that are explained below:

(i) Amphibia: 

(ii) Reptilia: 

(iii) Aves: 

(iii) Mammalia: 

Binomial Nomenclature of Organisms:

Binomial nomenclature system was given by Carolus Linnaeus  (1707 – 1778). He suggested a scientific name to each organism to prevent the confusion over different names in different languages.

Conventions for writing the scientific name:

Try the following questions:

Q1. Why does tapeworm not have digestive trait?

Q2. Why do we keep both snake and turtle in the same class?

Q3. Write the important characteristics of sponges.

Q4. Name the following:
(a) An egg laying mammal.
(b) A reptile with four chambered heart.
(c) A mammal which can fly.
(d) An aquatic mammal.

Q5. What is the difference between cold-blooded and warm-blooded animals?

Q6. List two distinguishing features between annelids and arthropods.

Also Read: CBSE Class 9 Science Chapter Notes - All Chapters

Related Categories

Also Read +