Are you worried or stressed? Click here for Expert Advice

Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) and CSAT Pattern

Jagran Josh

What Is Civil Services Aptitude Test?

The examination system of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is updated from time to time to keep it in harmony with the changing environment. UPSC issued notification for 2011 Civil Services Examination on 19th February, 2011 for recruitment to the various Group A and Group B Services and Posts. So far, there were GS objective type paper and the optional subject paper in the PT Exam. From 2011 the two compulsory papers comprise (1) Civil Services Preliminary Exam Paper I and (2) Civil Services Exam Paper II. Both papers carry 200 marks each. Paper two of the Civil Services PT Exam is popularly known as the Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT). In the official notice, the name of the Civil Services Preliminary Examination has not been changed while changing the pattern of the Civil Services Preliminary Exam Syllabus pattern.

UPSC PT (GS & CSAT) 2011 Pattern

General Studies (GS)

The UPSC PT pattern comprises of two objective papers. It is much similar to the traditional preliminary examination structure. However, it differs from the preliminary examination (PT) in its syllabus pattern. The GS paper is composed with the traditional GS subjects, with a few new introductory topics. They are - Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues in Polity. General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change have been added in the GS paper of the UPSC PT 2011.

Trending Now

Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT)

The new UPSC PT CSAT syllabus comprises objective type questions that give special emphasize on the aptitude skills and decision making skills of the candidates. Another major objective of CSAT is interpreted as to measure the ethical and moral aptitude of the candidates in decision making.
The two papers of the UPSC PT comprise (1) General studies paper as Paper I and (2) Aptitude Test paper as Paper II. Aptitude Test paper, i.e. Paper II, i.e. CSAT has replaced the traditional optional subjects and it concentrates on the aptitude skills of the candidates.

The syllabus of Civil Services (PT) Examination 2011 is given as follows:

Civil Service Preliminary Exam Paper I: 200 Marks - 2 Hours
•    Current Events of National and International Importance
•    History of India and Indian National Movement
•    Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the world
•    Indian Polity and Governance - Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues
•    Economic and Social Development - Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives
•    General Issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change
•    General Science

Civil Services Preliminary Exam Paper II: 200 marks - 2 Hours
•    Comprehension
•    Interpersonal skills including communication skills
•    Logical reasoning and analytical ability
•    Decision-making and problem solving
•    General mental ability
•    Basic numeracy (Class X level)
•    English language comprehension (Class X level)

Change has a considerable psychological impact on the human mind. Some candidates, who are fearful, will consider this change as threatening, because they feel that things may get worsened. Again, those candidates who are hopeful will consider this change as encouraging, because they feel that things may get better with a change that fits the demand of the present world. However, the attempt of changing the syllabus pattern of the UPSC PT Exam is inspiring because challenges exist to make things better. The future bureaucrats will be judged appropriately in the present 2011 UPSC Exam pattern that has focused a change in the PT syllabus according to the need of the present administration scenario.

Related Categories

Live users reading now