Pattern of Civil Services Main Exam for IAS, IPS, IFS and other services

The pattern of the Civil Services Main examination that must be taken by all aspirants of IAS, IPS, IFS and other services is determined the UPSC. The main examination consists of a written examination and an interview test.

Apr 9, 2011 06:39 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The format of the Civil Services Examination consists of the following:

  • Written Examination
  • Interview Test

Only those candidates that obtain minimum qualifying marks will be called for an interview.  It is expected that twice the number of candidates will be called as there are vacancies. 

The marks obtained by the candidates in the Written Examination and the Interview Test will determine the final ranking.  The marks obtained in the Indian Languages and English are of a qualifying nature and hence will not be counted for ranking.

Civil Services Main Examination Papers

  1. Paper I, Indian Languages, 300 Marks
  2. Paper II, English, 300 Marks
  3. Paper III, Essay, 200 Marks
  4. Paper IV, General Studies, 300 Marks
  5. Paper V, General Studies, 300 Marks
  6. Paper VI, VII, VIII and IX, 2 Optional Subjects, 2 Papers from Each Subject, 300 marks each paper

Total Marks used in Ranking:

Written examination:  2000 Points

Interview: 300 Points

Total Points for Ranking:  2300 Points


Related Stories