• Sanath Jayasuriya banned from cricket for two years

    Former Sri Lankan Cricket captain Sanath Jayasuriya has been banned from cricket for a period of two years. The veteran cricketer was banned after he admitted to breaching two provisions of the ICC Anti-Corruption Code.

    Feb 27, 2019
  • Chris Gayle announces retirement from One-day Internationals

    Veteran West Indies batsman Chris Gayle has announced that he will retire from One-day Internationals after this year’s World Cup in England and Wales. The announcement was made by West Indies Cricket on February 17, 2019.

    Feb 18, 2019
  • ICC suspends Ambati Rayudu from bowling in international cricket

    Indian bowler Ambati Rayudu has been suspended from bowling in international cricket by the International Cricket Council. The bowler failed to submit a bowling action test in the given timeline and hence, was penalised.

    Jan 29, 2019
  • Veteran South African all-rounder Johan Botha retires from all forms of cricket

    Veteran South African all-rounder Johan Botha has announced his immediate retirement from all forms of cricket. The cricketer cited wear and tear on his body and sheer physical fatigue as the main reason behind the decision.

    Jan 25, 2019
  • Virat Kohli named ICC Test, ODI Player and Cricketer of the year 2018

    Indian skipper Virat Kohli on January 22, 2019 became the first cricketer to win all the top three ICC individual awards including the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year for his performances in 2018.

    Jan 22, 2019
  • Vinesh Phogat becomes first Indian athlete to be nominated in Laureus World Comeback of Year Award

    Indian star wrestler Vinesh Phogat has become the first Indian athlete to be nominated for the prestigious Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award. Phogat has been nominated for the award alongside US Tour Championship winner Tiger Woods, who won his first tournament in five years.

    Jan 18, 2019
  • Virat Kohli, Ravi Shastri receive honorary membership of Sydney Cricket Ground

    Indian national cricket team's captain Virat Kohli and coach Ravi Shastri have received the honorary membership of the Sydney Cricket Ground for their contribution to the sport of cricket. The Indian team defeated Australia 2-1 in the four-match Test series, ending the country's 71-year-old wait for a rare series win Down Under.

    Jan 12, 2019
  • Harendra Singh removed as head coach of Indian men's hockey team

    Indian men's hockey coach Harendra Singh has been sacked from the position and offered the task of helming the junior squad by the national federation. Harendra Singh is the 25th coach of the men's hockey team who has been sacked in as many years, and the sixth in last six years.

    Jan 10, 2019
  • Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year

    Smriti Mandhana has been named as Best player of the year, ODI Player of the Year and included in ICC Women's Team of the Year 2018. The cricketer had played a crucial role in India’s semi-final appearance at the ICC Women’s World T20 in the West Indies.

    Dec 31, 2018
  • CA Kuttappa takes over as India's new chief boxing coach

    CA Kuttappa, a Dhronacharya awardee, took over as India’s new chief boxing coach during the beginning of the ongoing national camp, on December 10, 2018. He succeeds veteran boxing coach SR Singh, who has now retired.

    Dec 27, 2018
  • India's Vedangi Kulkarni becomes fastest Asian to cycle the globe

    Indian woman Vedangi Kulkarni has become the fastest Asian to cycle the globe. The 20-year-old completed the 29,000 kilometers' distance required to qualify as bicycling across the globe on December 23, 2018.

    Dec 24, 2018
  • WV Raman appointed new head coach of Indian national women’s cricket team

    Former India opener Woorkeri Venkat Raman has been appointed as the new Head coach of the Indian women's national cricket team. The 53-year-old will take over the role from Ramesh Powar, whose contract was not renewed after the controversies and fall-out with senior women's cricket team player Mithali Raj.

    Dec 21, 2018
  • Former Indian Kabaddi Captain, Anup Kumar announces retirement

    Anup Kumar, legendary Indian Kabaddi player and former World Cup-winning captain, announced his retirement from the sport with immediate effect on December 19, 2018, bringing an end to a 15-year-long career.

    Dec 20, 2018
  • PV Sindhu claims maiden BWF World Tour Finals Title

    Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu made history on December 16, 2018 by becoming the first Indian to win the BWF World Tour Finals. With the win, Sindhu claimed her 14th title overall and the first for this year, which had followed up with a series of disappointments after she was unable to win even a single tournament.

    Dec 17, 2018
  • Mary Kom clinches gold in World Boxing Championship

    Mary Kom has created history by winning her sixth world championship gold at the 10th World Women’s Boxing Championships, held in New Delhi, India. She is the only woman to become World Amateur Boxing champion for a record six times.

    Nov 26, 2018