President Ram Nath Kovind presents 65th National Film Awards

May 4, 2018 11:19 IST
    President Ram Nath Kovind presenting Sridevi's Best Actress Award to her family
    President Ram Nath Kovind presenting Sridevi's Best Actress Award to her family

    President Ram Nath Kovind on May 3, 2018 presented the 65th National Film Awards at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.

    However, this year, controversy engulfed the National Film Awards as more than 60 awardees boycotted the ceremony. In a historic first, the President of India presented the National Film Awards to just 11 of the 137 winners; remaining awards were handed over by the Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting Smriti Irani and MoS Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore.

    The awardees were informed at the last minute that the President will present only 11 awards. Over 60 awardees signed a letter of protest addressed to the Directorate of Film Festivals, expressing their disappointment at the way the announcement was made.

    The President felicitated the winners in top categories such as the Dadasaheb Phalke Award to Vinod Khanna, Best Actress Award to Sridevi, Best Playback Singer Male to KJ Yesudas, Best Actor Award to Riddhi Sen and Best Music Director Award to AR Rahman.

    In the history of the awards, it was for the first time that the President attended only the second half of the ceremony, honouring only a few of the winners. For 64 years, the President has been handing over the National Film Awards to all the recipients.

    When were the awards announced?

    The 65th National Film Awards were announced on April 13, 2017 by the jury headed by renowned filmmaker Shekhar Kapur.

    The other members of the jury panel are screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Rumi Jaffrey and Tripurari Sharma.


    Video: Check out the latest current affairs of this week

    Key Highlights

    • This year, Amit V Masurkar's ‘Newton’ movie won the Best Hindi language film award, while Pankaj Tripathi received a special mention for his performance in the same film.

    • Ganesh Acharya won the award for Best Choreography for the song ‘Goli Tu Lath maar’ in ‘Toilet Ek Prem Katha’.

    • The movie ‘Baahubali: The Conclusion’ by SS Rajamouli won in three categories- Best Action Direction, Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment and Best Special Effects.

    • Sridevi was posthumously awarded with the Best Actress award for her movie ‘Mom’ and the Dada Saheb Phalke Award went to late veteran actor Vinod Khanna, who died on April 2, 2017.

     65th National Film Awards

    List of awardees



    Best Feature Film

    Village Rockstar (Assamese)

    Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director


    Best Film on social issue


    Best Children's Film


    Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment

    Baahubali 2: The Conclusion

    Best Director

    Jayaraj for Bhayanakam

    Best Actor


    Riddhi Sen for Nagarkirtan

    Best Actress

    Sridevi for Mom

    Best Supporting Actor

    Fahad Faasil for Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

    Best Supporting Actress

    Divya Dutta for Irada

    Best Child Artist

    Neeta Das for Village Rockstar

    Best Male Playback Singer


    Best Regional Film


    Best Jasari Film


    Best Tulu Film


    Best Tamil Film

    To Let

    Best Gujarati Film


    Best Telugu Film


    Best Marathi Film

    Kaccha Limbu 

    Best Malayalam Film

    Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

    Best Kannada Film

    Hebbettu Ramakka

    Best Hindi Film


    Best Bengal Film


    Best Assamese Film


    Best Special Effects

    Baahubali 2: The Conclusion

    Best Music Direction

    AR Rahman for Kaatru Veliyidai

    Best Film on Environment Conservation/ Preservation


    Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration


    Dada Saheb Phalke Award

    Vinod Khanna

    Special Mentions

    Pankaj Tripathi (Newton), Parvathy (Take Off), Prakruti Mishra (Hello Arsi), Yasharaj Karhade (Mhorkya)

    Read More Current Affairs

    Quick Digest

    Who: 65th National Film Awards

    What: Announced

    Is this article important for exams ? Yes12 People Agreed

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.