Andhra Pradesh gets separate state symbols post split

The state of Andhra Pradesh has notified its separate state symbols post-split and creation of Telangana in 2014.

The announcement of the new symbols was made by the state department of environment, forest, science and technology on May 30, 2018. The move comes four years after unified Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated into two states- Andhra Pradesh and Telangana in June, 2014.

Explaining the reasons for announcing the new symbols, the department stated that the government of Andhra Pradesh felt that it is necessary to have a separate set of symbols for the state of Andhra Pradesh after bifurcation of the combined state.

State Symbols


Andhra Pradesh


Undivided AP

State Tree


Jammi Chettu


          State Bird

Rose-ringed Parakeet



State Animal

Black Buck

Jinka/ Spotted Deer


State Flower


Tangidi Puvvu



The most notable change was in the symbol of the state bird. While the state bird of undivided Andhra Pradesh was Indian Roller or Palapitta, the bifurcated Andhra Pradesh changed it to Rama Chiluka or rose-ringed parakeet. Palapitta is now the state bird of Telangana, Odisha and Karnataka.

Andhra Pradesh has, however, retained undivided AP’s symbol of state animal- Krishna Jinka or blackbuck- as its state animal. Telangana had dropped it to adopt spotted deer as its state animal.

The state tree of unified AP –neem was also retained by bifurcated AP, while Telangana adopted Jammi Chettu, which has cultural significance in the region.

Another notable change was in the state flower, as though undivided AP had water Lilly or Kaluva as the state flower, both divided AP and Telangana dropped it.

Bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh

  • The state of Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated in June 2014 after the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, popularly known as the Telangana Act received presidential assent.
  • The move followed several years of protest and agitation from the people of the Telangana region, who demanded for the creation of a new state- Telangana-from the pre-existing state of Andhra Pradesh. The movement was one of the most long-lasting movements in South India, lasting for almost a decade.
  • The Telangana Act defined the boundaries of the two states, determined how the assets and liabilities were to be divided, and laid out the status of Hyderabad as the permanent capital of new Telangana state and temporary capital of the Andhra Pradesh state till a new one was identified.    
  • The bill was passed in the Lok Sabha on February 18, 2014 and in the Rajya Sabha on February 20, 2014.
  • The bill was attested by the then President Pranab Mukherjee on March 1, 2014. The new states were created on June 2, 2014.
  • Amaravati was named as the capital city of divided Andhra Pradesh on April 1, 2015.

Read More Current Affairs

Related Categories


View More