Chhattisgarh Election Results 2018: Congress claims majority by winning 68 seats; puts an end to Raman Singh era

The Indian National Congress claimed majority in Chhattisgarh by winning 68 seats in the 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trailed behind with 15 seats, followed by Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) with 5 seats and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 2 seats. Counting of votes for the 90-member Assembly began on December 11, 2018.

Chief Minister Raman Singh resigned

Post the result declaration, Chief Minister Raman Singh of BJP resigned from his post after serving the state for 15 years.

He took the responsibility for BJP’s poor performance in Chhattisgarh and refused to pass the blame on the BJP’s national leadership over the setback after 15 years of the party’s rule in the state.

Congress yet to decide on chief ministerial candidate

The Congress will hold its legislature party meeting on December 12, 2018 to decide on the Chief Minister candidate for Chhattisgarh.

Congress' Lok Sabha member Tamradhwaj Sahu, State Party Chief Bhupesh Baghel and Senior Leader T S Singhdeo are front-runners for the top post.

End of Raman Singh era

The Congress was in power in Chhattisgarh when the state was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in 2000 till 2003.

Its comeback this year signals the end of the era of Bharatiya Janata Party’s Raman Singh, the longest-serving Chief Minister of any state.

Polling amidst Naxal Violence

The polling for the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly took place in two phases, one on November 12 and the second on November 20, 2018. The first phase saw a voter turnout of 76.35 percent and the second phase saw the turnout of 76.34 percent voters, amidst the naxal violence.

Naxals tried to disrupt polling by triggering an Improvised Explosive Device (IED) blast at Katekalyan in Dantewada before voting began.

An encounter also broke out in Bijapur district between the Left-Wing Extremists and the CoBRA battalion of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), in which 10 Naxals were killed and five CRPF personnel were injured.

Battle between three political parties

This year, Chhattisgarh fought a battle between three political parties - Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and the Ajit Jogi-Mayawati-led alliance.

The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), former chief minister Ajit Jogi's Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and Communist Party of India (CPI) formed coalition and added another dimension to the electoral politics.

Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly

The Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly comprises 91 Members, which include 90 members directly elected from single-seat constituencies and 1 nominated from the Anglo-Indian community.

The term of the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly is of 5 years, unless dissolved.

Chhattisgarh Elections Results 2013

State (seats)

BJP (seats)

INC (seats)

BSP (seats)

Others (seats)

Chhattisgarh (90)





Previous State Assemblies



Winning Party

Chief Minister



Indian National Congress

Ajit Jogi



Bharatiya Janata Party

Raman Singh



Bharatiya Janata Party

Raman Singh



Bharatiya Janata Party

Raman Singh


Related Categories