DAIC, JNU sign MoU to enhance research activities for sustainable development

Dr Ambedkar International Centre (DAIC) and the Jawaharlal Nehru University on November 30, 2018 signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to facilitate and enhance research activities and policy formulation aimed at socio-economic transformation and sustainable development.

The MoU was signed by Prof M Jagadesh Kumar, Vice Chancellor of JNU and Atul Dev Sarmah, Director of DAIC.

JNU, with a status of the ‘University of Excellence’ given by the UGC, is a world-renowned centre for teaching and research, having collaborations and MoUs with universities across the world in research projects, conferences, and publications.

Highlights of the MoU

• The MoU will facilitate and enhance research activities and policy formulation aimed at Socio-economic Transformation and Sustainable Development.

• The two organisations resolved to cooperate within the scope of their mandates and sphere of competences to work for these issues.

• They recognised the benefits to be derived from increased collaboration, cooperation and interaction for the further promotion and understanding of high performance in research training and organising various programmes including conferences, seminars, symposia and lecture series.

• The MoU aims to define the areas for fundamental, academic research in which both the sides desire to work together in future for their mutual benefit to foster a collaborative framework between DAIC and JNU.

• It will also support collaboration among the researchers associated with both the Parties.

Dr Ambedkar International Centre (DAIC)

• DAIC, inaugurated by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is a centrally located state-of-the-art Centre for quality research in socio-economic transformation and it has been envisaged as a think-tank for preparing policy briefs.

• The centre, constructed at a cost of Rs 195.74 crore at 15 Janpath, was declared as a Centre of Excellence for Socio-economic Transformation and Buddhist Studies by PM Narendra Modi in December 2017.

• The Centre has five schools – School of Sustainable Development and Livelihood, School of Buddhist Studies, School of Policy Making and Policy Advocacy, School of Studies on Ambedkar, and School of Socio-economic Transformation.

• These five schools offer short term accredited courses, training and internships, data mining opportunities, research programmes, conferences and symposiums, lecture series and study tours.

Related Categories

Also Read +