Government constitutes new science and technology council to advise PM

The Union Government has constituted a 21-member science and technology council to advise Prime Minister Narendra Modi on matters related to science, technology and innovations.

The council, named as Prime Minister's Science Technology and Innovation Advisory Committee (PM-STIAC), will be headed by K Vijay Raghavan, the principal scientific adviser to the Union Government.

Key Details

The panel will advise the Prime Minister on all matters related to science, technology and innovation and monitor the implementation of PM’s vision on the same.

It will facilitate the formulation and implementation of policies and decisions and provide action-oriented and future preparedness advise and assist in directing science and technology to solve the socio-economic problems in the country.

It also aims to lay special emphasis on driving innovation in education and research.

Composition of the Committee

The key members of the panel include:

Manjul Bharghava: Noted mathematician and professor at Princeton University.

Major General Madhuri Kanitkar: First woman dean of Army Forces Medical College, Pune.

A S Kiran Kumar: Former ISRO chief

VK Saraswat: Member of NITI Aayog and former DG of DRDO

Ajay Sood: Professor at Indian Institute of Science

Subhash Kak: Professor at Oklahoma State University, United States

Sangamitra Bandopadhyay: Director of Indian Statistical Institute

Baba Kalyani: Indian Industrialist and MD of Bharat Forge

Besides this, secretaries of at least 10 central ministries related to science, technology, energy and education including atomic energy, space, biotechnology, new & renewable energy, environment & forests, agriculture, health & higher education, will be special invitees to the 21-member panel.

The panel also has the provision to include an additional member, the decision of which has to be taken by the chairman of the committee.


Read More Current Affairs


Related Categories