HD Kumaraswamy sworn in as Karnataka Chief Minister

JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy was sworn in as the 18th Chief Minister of Karnataka on May 23, 2018.

The swearing-in ceremony was conducted at 4.30 pm on the steps of the state secretariat, Vidhana Soudha. Kumaraswamy was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala.

Key Highlights

Karnataka Congress leader G Parameshwara was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Among Karnataka’s 34 ministries, 22 would go to the Congress and the remaining 12, including the post of the Chief Minister, will be held by the JD(S).

The seats, however, will be decided after the floor test, which will be held on May 25, 2018.

The post of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker would also be evenly divided. While the Speaker will be from the Congress, his deputy will be from the Janata Dal Secular.

The JDS leader was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the second time in 12 years.

He earlier served as Karnataka CM from February 2006 to October 2007. Karnataka Governor TN Chaturvedi had invited Kumaraswamy to form the government in the state after the resignation of the Congress Government led by Dharam Singh.

Opposition Unites: Rise of Regional Parties

The swearing-in ceremony saw in attendance Congress President Rahul Gandhi, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Chief Ministers and heads of regional parties including West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, AP CM Chandrababu Naidu, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, CPI(M)leader Sitaram Yechury, NCP's Sharad Pawar, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party head Mayawati.


  • Kumaraswamy was invited by Vajubhai Vala to form government in Karnataka after B S Yeddyurappa stepped down from the post on May 19 just before the floor test, citing the reason to be lack of required numbers to form a majority government.
  • The results of Karnataka Assembly polls had thrown up a hung verdict on May 12, with the BJP emerging as the single largest party with 104 seats, followed by Congress with 78 seats and then the JD(S) with 37 seats.
  • The Congress and the JD(S) formed a post poll alliance, which took their total numbers past the required majority mark of 112.
  • The Bahujan Samaj Party, Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party and an Independent, who won one seat each have also pledged their support to the Congress-JD(S) alliance.



Karnataka Elections 2018: Governor Vajubhai Vala to take the final call

BS Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM

BS Yeddyurappa resigns as Karnataka Chief Minister

Read More Current Affairs

Related Categories


View More