Kumar Sangakkara named as MCC president; Heena Sidhu, Ankur Mittal recommended for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna - Current Affairs

Story 1: Kumar Sangakkara named as first non-British MCC president

Former Sri Lanka captain, Kumar Sangakkara was on May 1, 2019 appointed as the President of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), England. With this, Sangakkara became the first non-British to head the Club.

Sangakkara will take up the post on October 1, 2019 and will serve the position for a period of 12 months. His nomination was announced by the current MCC President Anthony Wreford at the MCC Annual General Meeting at Lord’s.

During his one-year tenure, Sangakkara will witness two England Tests against West Indies and Pakistan, and the launch of The Hundred competition before his term ends on September 30, 2020.

Sangakkara is already an active member of MCC's World Cricket Committee since 2012, and also owns the Honorary Life Membership of the club, which he was bestowed with in 2012 itself.

Marylebone Cricket Club

Founded in 1787, Marylebone Cricket Club is a cricket club based at the Lord's Cricket Ground in St John's Wood, London, England.

MCC, owner of Lord’s Ground as well, is the world’s most active cricket club.

It acts as the guardian of the laws of the Cricket. It is the copyright holder of the Laws of Cricket.

Initially, the MCC was the governing body of cricket in Wales, in England and across the world.

In the year 1993, almost all of its global functions were transferred to the International Cricket Council (ICC). Its English governance was passed to the Test and County Cricket Board (TCCB).

Kumar Sangakkara

Sangakkara made his international debut in 2000.

He scored 38 centuries and 52 half-centuries from 134 matches in his Test match career.

In ICC World Cup 2015, Kumar Sangakkara created a record by becoming first batsman to score hundreds in three consecutive World Cup matches.

He was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year in 2011 by the ICC and was honoured as one of the Wisden Cricketers of the Year in 2012.

Sangakkara is fifth highest run scorer in Test cricket. He has scored 12400 runs in 134 Test matches at an average of 57.40.

In 2015, he retired from the International Cricket and Test Cricket.

Story 2: Shooters Heena Sidhu, Ankur Mittal recommended for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

The National Shooting Federation on April 29, 2019 recommended pistol ace Heena Sidhu and trap shooter Ankur Mittal for the 2019 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, the country's highest sporting honour.

Heena Sidhu is the first Indian pistol shooter to reach number one in the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) world rankings. She has won multiple gold medals at the World Cup, Commonwealth Games, Commonwealth and Asian Championships.  She also held the world record in the 10-metre air pistol event with a final score of 203.8.

Ankur Mittal has been one of the most consistent Indian shooters in shotgun. He has won silver and gold medals at the World Cups in 2017; bagged gold medals at the Asian Championships 2017 and Commonwealth Championships in 2018. He claimed silver at the ISSF World Shotgun Championship and became the world No 1 in double trap.

Nominations for Arjuna Award

The Shooting Federation nominated Anjum Moudgil (rifle), Shahzar Rizvi (pistol) and Om Prakash Mitharwal (pistol) for the 2019 Arjuna Awards.

Moudgil was the first Indian to secure a quota place in shooting for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics after she managed to win Silver in women's air rifle in the World Championship in September 2018.

On the other hand, Rizvi is the winner of gold and silver medals in World Cups in 2018. Mitharwal saw success in the 2018 World Championship in Changwon, Korea, winning the men's 50m gold medal.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Regarded as the highest sporting honour of India, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is named after Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India. The award consists of a medal, a citation and cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh.

Related Categories


View More