How to vote in Uttar Pradesh: Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 has begun in India, with a total 51 parliamentary constituencies in the fray across 7 states. Overall, voting is taking place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 12 in Rajasthan, 7 each in Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, 5 in Bihar and 4 in Jharkhand. In Jammu and Kashmir, polling is underway in Pulwama and Shopian districts of Anantnag and Ladakh constituencies.

While 22 states and Union Territories will see single-phase polling in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal will see polling in all seven phases. Among all the states in India, UP sends maximum 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha. Considering its huge population and vast geographical area, the Election Commission decided to hold elections in the state in each of the seven phases.

Key points to remember when you go to vote!

Only those, whose names appear in the voter list, which is also known as the electoral roll, are allowed to vote.

How to find name in electoral roll?

Voters can log on to, download voter helpline app or call Voter Helpline 1950 (add your STD code before dialling) or SMS <ECI> space <EPIC No> to 1950 to find their name in the electoral roll.

Register on Voter List

Check your name in Voter List

What is EPIC No.?

EPIC stands for Electors Photo Identity Card also commonly known as Voter ID card. Example - If your EPIC is 12345678 then sms ECI 12345678 to 1950

Required ID cards

The voters can carry any of the recognised ID cards for polling including voter id card, passport, driving license, pan card, Aadhaar card, service identity cards, smart card issued by RGI, MNREGA job card, health insurance smart card, pension document with photograph and passbooks with photograph issued by bank or post office. Carrying the voter ID card is not compulsory.

How to find nearest Polling Booth?

In case of confusion regarding the polling booths, voters can go to or use Voter Helpline App to find their respective polling booths. Voters can also call the voter helpline (1950 with STD code prefix) or sms <ECIPS> space <EPIC No> to 1950.

Important note: No mobile phones, cameras or any other gadget is allowed inside a polling booth.

Voting Process

Inside the polling booth, first, the polling official will check the voter’s name on the voter list and check ID proof.

Then they will ink the voter’s finger, give a slip and take signature on a register.

The voters will have to deposit the slip at the third polling official and show their inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth.

The voters can record their vote by pressing the ballot button opposite the symbol of the candidate of their choice on the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM). Once pressed, the voter will hear a beep sound.

Voters can press NOTA, None of the Above, if they don't like any candidate. NOTA  is the last button on the EVM.

Know Your EVM

How to cast Vote using EVM - VVPAT

UP Elections: Key Highlights

In the fifth phase of polls in Uttar Pradesh, the polling has begun in 14 parliamentary constituencies including Lucknow, Raibarely, Amethi, Sitapur, Kaushambi, Gonda, Banda, Fatehpur, Faizabad, Mohanlalganj, Kaiserganj, Daurahra, Barabanki and Behraich.

The polling will decide the fate of a total of 182 candidates including key candidates such as Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

The state is primarily seeing a triangular contest between the BJP, Congress and the SP-BSP. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, barring Amethi and Raibareli, the BJP had registered wins on rest of the 12 seats.

Under the seat-sharing arrangement between BSP and SP in the fifth phase, the BSP has fielded five candidates from the constituencies of Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Fatehpur, Kaiserganj and Daurahra while the SP has fielded seven candidates from Lucknow, Banda, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich and Gonda.

On the other hand, the Congress has fielded its candidates from all parliamentary constituencies.

The polling will be held between 7am to 6 pm. The EC has said all the adequate security arrangement would be done to ensure a smooth polling process.

Eight Constituencies & Key Candidates

Sitapur: BJP's sitting MP Rajesh Verma is seeking re-election from this seat. He is contesting against Congress' Qaiser Jahan and SP-BSP joint candidate Nakul Dubey.

Mohanlalganj: In this seat, sitting BJP MP Kaushal Kishore is seeking a second term. His main contestant is CL Verma from the BSP. The Congress has fielded RK Chaudhary from the seat.

Lucknow: In this seat, Union Minister Rajnath Singh is seeking another term. Former BJP MP and actor Shatrughan Sinha's wife Poonam Sinha has been fielded from the seat as the SP-BSP joint candidate, while the Congress has fielded Acharya Pramod Krishnam.

Rae Bareli:  In this seat, which is one of the country's most high-profile constituencies, the BJP has fielded Congress turncoat Dinesh Pratap Singh to take on UPA Chairperson and four-time MP Sonia Gandhi. The SP-BSP alliance has not fielded any candidate from the seat.

Amethi: The traditionally safe seat of the Indian National Congress is going to see a tough two-way competition between the Congress and the BJP in the current polls. Congress President and sitting MP Rahul Gandhi has been once again challenged by Union Minister Smriti Irani. Gandhi has been representing the seat since 2004. Before him, it was represented by his mother Sonia Gandhi and father Rajiv Gandhi. The SP-BSP alliance has not fielded a candidate from the seat.

Banda: In this seat, BJP's RK Singh Patel has been pitted against Congress' Balkumar Patel and SP-BSP joint candidate Shyama Charan Gupta.

Fatehpur: In this seat, sitting BJP MP Niranjan Jyoti is seeking another term. She is pitted against Congress' Rakesh Sachan and SP-BSP joint candidate Sukhdev Prasad Verma.

Kaushambi: In this seat, BJP's sitting MP Vinod Kumar Sonkar is facing a tough fight from SP-BSP joint candidate Indrajeet Saroj. The Congress has fielded Girish Pasi from the seat.

Barabanki: In this seat, BJP's Upendra Singh Rawat has been pitted against SP-BSP joint candidate Ram Sagar Rawat and Congress candidate Tanuj Punia.

Faizabad: In this seat, sitting BJP MP Lallu Singh has been pitted against SP-BSP joint candidate Anand Sen and Congress' Nirmal Khatri.

Bahraich: In this seat, the sitting BJP MP Savitri Bai Phule recently quit the party and joined the Congress. She is up against SP-BSP joint candidate Shabbir Balmiki and BJP's new candidate Akshaibar Lal.

Kaiserganj: In this seat, BJP's sitting MP Brijbhusan Sharan Singh has been pitted against SP-BSP joint candidate Chandradev Ram Yadav and Congress' Vinay Kumar Pandey.

Daurahra: In this seat, sitting BJP MP Rekha Verma has been pitted against SP-BSP candidate Arshad Iliyas Siddiqui and Congress' Kunwar Jitin Prasada.

Gonda: In this seat, sitting BJP MP Kirti Vardhan Singh has been pitted against SP-BSP candidate Vinod Kumar and Congress' Krishna Patel.

Walking Through the Indian Elections - VVPAT

The state is primarily seeing a triangular contest between the BJP, Congress and the SP-BSP.

Related Categories


View More