Mithali Raj wins 'Sportsperson of the Year' award

Indian women's cricket team captain Mithali Raj was named 'Sportsperson of the Year' at the Telangana Sports Journalists Association annual awards for 2017 in Hyderabad on March 31, 2018.

The award was conferred by B V Papa Rao, Advisor to the Telangana government. It was received by Mithali Raj’s parents on her behalf, as she was not present on the occasion.

Other Awards

Best Senior Male athlete: The award was conferred to ace Indian shuttler Kidambi Srikanth by former BCCI president N Shivlal Yadav.

Best Senior Female athlete: The award was conferred to ace Indian shuttler P V Sindhu by tennis star Sania Mirza.

Best Coach of the Year: The award was conferred by former Indian cricketer V V S Laxman to Gopichand, who received the honour for the second time in a row.


Lifetime Achievement award: The honour was presented to triple Olympian and former national hockey player N Mukesh Kumar.

Team of the year: The award was won by Hyderabad Cricket team. It was given away by national selection committee chairman M S K Prasad who urged the youngsters to play it fair.

Outstanding achievement award: The award was presented to ace Indian gymnast B Aruna Reddy.

Read More Current Affairs


Related Categories