NITI Aayog constitutes 'Himalayan State Regional Council'

NITI Aayog on November 15, 2018 constituted the ‘Himalayan State Regional Council’ to ensure sustainable development of the Indian Himalayan region.

Chairman and Members

The Himalayan State Regional Council will be chaired by the Dr VK Saraswat, Member of NITI Aayog.

It will consist of the Chief Secretaries of the Himalayan States as well as the Secretaries of key Central Ministries, senior officers of NITI Aayog as well as special invitees.

The Council was constituted with an aim to review and implement identified action points based on the Reports of five Working Groups, which were established along thematic areas to prepare a roadmap for action.


Earlier in June 2017, the NITI Aayog had set up 5 Working Groups to prepare a roadmap for actions in 5 thematic areas that are quite significant for the Himalayas. These areas were:

  1. Inventory and Revival of Springs in Himalayas for Water Security
  2. Sustainable Tourism in Indian Himalayan Region
  3. Transformative Approach to Shifting Cultivation
  4. Strengthening Skill & Entrepreneurship Landscape in Himalayas
  5. Data/Information for Informed Decision Making

These working groups were constituted after the NITI Aayog recognised that mountains require specific solutions for resilience building that address socio-economic and environmental challenges in the mountain setting.

The five thematic reports were released by the NITI Aayog in August 2018 to frame the action points for the Terms of Reference of the Council constituted.

Terms of Reference of the Himalayan States Regional Council

• The Himalayan States Regional Council will be the nodal agency for the Sustainable development in the Himalayan Region.

• It will monitor the implementation of action points for Central Ministries, Institutions and 12 Himalayan State Governments in Indian Himalayan Region.

• The action points include river basin development and regional cooperation, spring mapping and revival across Himalayas for water security; develop, implement and monitor tourism sector standards, strengthen skill and entrepreneurship, among other action points.

12 States of Himalayan Region

Himalayan Region consists of 12 States, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, two districts of Assam namely Dima Hasao and Karbi Anglong; and Darjeeling & Kalimpong in West Bengal.

Related Categories


View More