NITI Aayog releases first Delta Ranking of Aspirational Districts

The NITI Aayog on June 29, 2018 launched the first Delta Ranking (Incremental Progress) of the Aspirational Districts based on self-reported data of districts between March 31, 2018 to May 31, 2018.

The data was received on five developmental areas- Health and Nutrition, Education, Agriculture and Water Resources, Financial Inclusion and Skill Development, and Basic Infrastructure.

These rankings were launched as a part of ‘Transformation of Aspirational Districts’ programme of PM Narendra Modi.


The purpose of Delta Ranking of Aspirational Districts is to spur a sense of competition among the dynamic teams in the districts.

As these districts face many challenges including legacy, weak resource base, deficit of manpower, etc, the ranking is also a tool to identify sectors and indicator specific challenges so that ‘Team India’ hub, which is driving this programme, can take immediate corrective measures.

Rankings of few districts

• Dahod district of Gujarat improved 19.8 points to rank 1st in the Delta ranking and was Ranked 17th in Baseline ranking.

• Asifabad district of Telangana, which was ranked 100 in Baseline ranking released in March 2018, made significant improvements in past two months and stood at 15 in Delta ranking.

• West Sikkim district of Sikkim stood second with 18.9 points, a huge improvement from being in the 30th position in Baseline ranking.

• Bijapur district in Chhattisgarh also made significant improvement by gaining 14.7 points, fetching 6th position in Delta ranking. It ranked at 45th position in Baseline ranking.

Data entry by districts

• The Districts began entering data from April 1, 2018 in the Champions of Change Dashboard and a total of 108 districts out of total 112 participated in this ranking.

• Data entry by remaining four districts is also in progress, though they are not part of this ranking.

• The delta ranking was computed in a transparent manner for combined improvements made during April and May 2018.

• Some of the data points have been sourced from Financial Inclusion, Skill Development and 3 indicators of Basic Infrastructure - Household Electricity Connections, Household Toilets and Rural Drinking Water.

• Most of the data points have been self-reported by the various districts themselves.


Tata Trusts, and Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (ID Insights), the knowledge partners of NITI Aayog, are expected to provide data on 13 survey indicators and have validated values for 29 data-points.

NITI Aayog’s next ranking will take these inputs into account and will be released.

About ‘Transformation of Aspirational Districts’ programme

• The ‘Transformation of Aspirational Districts’ programme was launched by the  PM Modi in January 2018 with an aim to effectively transform some of the most underdeveloped districts of the country.

• The broad features of the programme are:
o Convergence (of Central & State Schemes)
o Collaboration (of Central, State level ‘Prabhari’ Officers & District Collectors)
o Competition among districts driven by a Mass Movement or a Jan Andolan

• The program focuses on the strength of each district, identifies low-hanging fruits for immediate improvement, measures progress, and ranks districts.

• It seeks to fulfil Union Government’s SabkaSaath, SabkaVikas initiative that aims to raise the living standards of citizens and ensure inclusive growth for all.


Related Categories