India to host ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, Australia to host postponed edition in 2022

The International Cricket Council on August 7, 2020 announced that the postponed ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2020 will now be held in Australia in 2022. The T20 World Cup 2021, which was scheduled in India, will take place as planned. 

The format of the T20 World Cup 2021 will remain same as the 2020 World Cup edition, which was supposed to be held in Australia in October-November 2020. All the teams who qualified for the 2020 event will now participate in the 2021 edition in India. A new qualification process will be initiated for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

All the fans who had purchased tickets to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia will be refunded the full amount. More information for ticket holders is available here.

ICC's new schedule for major events affected by the global pandemic: 

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021- India

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022- Australia

India: 2021 🇮🇳
Australia: 2022 🇦🇺

CONFIRMED: The next edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup will be held in India, while Australia will stage the tournament in 2022!

— T20 World Cup (@T20WorldCup) August 7, 2020

ICC Women's World Cup 2021 postponed

The ICC Women's World Cup, which was scheduled for February 2021 in New Zealand has been postponed to February-March 2022. The qualification event that will decide the three remaining teams to join the hosts and the top four sides who have already ensured participation will take place in 2021.

ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney said in a statement that no women’s international cricket has been played since the conclusion of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup earlier this year and due to the varying impact of COVID-19 globally that is likely to remain the situation for a number of the teams.

Hence, moving the event by 12 months will give all the competing teams the chance to play a sufficient level of cricket ahead of both the qualification event and leading into a Cricket World Cup so the integrity of the tournament is maintained.


The format of the postponed ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup will remain as it was for 2021. The five teams that have already qualified for the 2021 event including the hosts and the top 4 sides will continue to be qualified for the 2022 event.

The original qualification event to determine the final three contesting teams, which was scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka in July 2020, will now be held in 2021.


Related Categories

Also Read +