PM Modi to chair Fifth Governing Council Meeting of NITI Aayog today

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will chair the fifth meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog today at Rashtrapati Bhavan, keeping up the spirit of new motto of Modi 2.0 Government - "Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas and Sabka Vishwaas".

The Vice Chairman, Members, CEO and senior officers of the NITI Aayog will take part in the proceedings of the Governing Council meeting .

The meeting will be attended by following Council of Ministers as ex-officio members:

- Rajnath Singh, Union Minister of Defence
- Amit Shah, Union Minister of Home Affairs
- Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Finance & Corporate Affairs
- Narendra Singh Tomar, Minister of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj

The special invitees to the meeting of Governing Council will be:

Nitin Gadkari

Union Minister of Road Transport & Highways, and MSME

Thawar Chand Gehlot

Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment

Piyush Goyal

Minister of Railways and Commerce and Industry

Rao Inderjit Singh

Minister of State of Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation and Ministry of Planning

Ram Vilas Paswan

Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Minister of Jal Shakti

Giriraj Singh

Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

Ajit Doval

National Security Adviser


The NITI Aayog Governing Council reviews the action taken on the agenda of the previous meeting and deliberates upon the future priorities and issues. The agenda of this Fifth Meeting of the Governing Council would be:

• Rain-Water Harvesting
• Drought Situation
• Achievements and Challenges of Aspirational Districts Programme
• Structural Reforms on Transforming Agriculture with special emphasis on: Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee (APMC) Act & Essential Commodities Act (ECA)    
• Security related issues with specific focus on LWE Districts

NITI Aayog Governing Council & its meeting

The Governing Council is the central body tasked to engage with States in shaping their development narrative and evolve a shared vision of national development priorities, sectors and strategies. The Governing Council of NITI Aayog is comprised of:

• Prime Minister
• Chief Ministers & Lt. Governors of all the States and Union Territories
• Other special invitees

The Governing Council is a platform to discuss inter-sectoral, inter-departmental and federal issues to accelerate the implementation of the national development agenda in the spirit of "Ek Bharat, Shrestha Bharat".

Previous Governing Council Meetings

So far, four meetings of the Governing Council have been held under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister Modi. The First Meeting was held on February 8, 2015 which saw laying down of the key mandates of NITI Aayog such as fostering cooperative federalism and addressing national issues.

The Second Meeting took place on July 15, 2015, Third Meeting was held on April 23, 2017 and the Fourth was held on June 17, 2018.

Related Categories

Also Read +