Virat Kohli named ICC Test, ODI Player and Cricketer of the year 2018

Indian skipper Virat Kohli on January 22, 2019 became the first cricketer to win all the top three ICC individual awards including the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year for his performances in 2018.

The Indian captain, who recently led India to its historic series win down under, was also named the captain of the ICC Test Team and the ODI Team of the year 2018, the line-ups of which were dominated by Indian players.

Key Highlights

Kohli, who accumulated a total of 1322 runs from 13 Tests, 1202 from 14 ODIs and 211 from 10 T20Is, became the first player to win all three awards together.

This is the second consecutive time that he has won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year. This was also his second successive ODI Player of the Year award.

Besides, Indian wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant claimed the ICC's Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

Further, players from India and England, which are the top-ranked ODI sides, dominated the ICC Men's ODI Team rankings, as with four players each, they made up more than two-thirds of the ODI Team of the Year 2018.

On the other hand, the ICC Test team of the year featured three players each from India and New Zealand. The Indian players included in the ICC test team included Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Virat Kohli.

Besides Kohli, fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah was the only player to be named in both Test and ODI sides. The other two Indians in the ICC ODI team of the year included opener Rohit Sharma and spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

The Awardees

ICC Men's Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men's Test Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Rishabh Pant (India)

Fans Moment of the Year: Indian under-19 team's World Cup triumph in New Zealand

David Shepherd Trophy, Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

ICC Men's Test Team of the Year (in batting order)

Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India) (capt), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India) (wk), Jason Holder (Windies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

ICC Men's ODI team of the year (in batting order)

 Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India) (capt), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England) (wk), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India).


The 30-year-old Kohli, who first came into limelight when he led India to victory at the ICC Under-19 World Cup in Malaysia in 2008, finished the year as the top-ranked batsman in Tests and ODIs.

The highest scorer in both forms of the game in 2018, he was one of only two batsmen to score more than 1,000 runs in Tests and only among three to do so in ODI cricket.

Kohli was the unanimous choice of the voting academy for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy with South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada coming in second to him for both this award and the Test Player of the Year honour.

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan was runner up to Kohli for the ICC ODI Player of the Year award.

India won six Tests and lost seven during the voting period that ran from January 1 to December 31, 2018. In ODIs, Kohli led India to nine victories, with four losses and one tied match.

Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Related Categories

Also Read +