Assembly elections 2019: Polling begins in Maharashtra, Haryana

Assembly elections 2019: Polling has begun for assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana.

Oct 21, 2019 09:59 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Assembly elections 2019: The polling has begun for assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana. The voting began at 7 am on October 21, 2019. Polling is also being held for 51 assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies. The polling will be held till 6 pm in the evening.

In Maharashtra assembly elections 2019, 3,237 candidates are contesting across 288 seats. The main alliances that will face off against each other include the BJP-Shiv Sena and the Congress-NCP alliance.

In the Haryana assembly elections 2019, 1,169 candidates are contesting for 90 assembly seats. The main parties in the state include the BJP, Congress and Indian National Lok Dal. Both the states are BJP-ruled currently.

Also read:  Nuclear Energy Conclave 2019 held in New Delhi

Assembly elections 2019 results

The assembly election results of Haryana and Maharashtra will be declared on October 24, 2019. The exit polls, or the polls of polls of the state assembly elections and the by-polls will be announced after 6.30 pm on October 21, 2019.

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019 will see a face-off between the ruling BJP-Shiv Sena alliance and the opposition Congress-NCP. While the BJP is contesting in 150 seats and Shiv Sena is contesting on 124 seats, the Congress is contesting on 147 seats and NCP is contesting on 121 seats.

The BJP and Shiv Sena combined currently hold 217 seats in the state, while the Congress and the NCP hold 56 seats.

The other parties that are contesting in the state include MNS, CPI, CPM, BSP, AIMIM and Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi. Among the total 3,237 candidates, 235 are women and 1400 are independents.

 The key candidates include current Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis from the BJP, former Maharashtra CM Prithviraj Chavan of Congress, NCP's Ajit Pawar and Shiv Sena’s Aaditya Thackeray, who is the first-ever Thackeray family member to contest elections in five decades since the party was founded.

Haryana assembly elections 2019

The main parties in the Haryana assembly elections 2019 include the BJP, Congress and Indian National Lok Dal.

While the BJP and Congress are contesting in all 90 seats, the Indian National Lok Dal in alliance with Shiromani Akali Dal has fielded its candidates in 81 seats.

The other parties that are contesting in the state include Aam Aadmi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and the Jannayak Janta Party.

The key candidates include current Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar from the BJP, former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda from the Congress, INLD leader Abhay Singh Chautala and BJP's three high-profile candidates from sports background -wrestlers Yogeshwar Dutt and Babita Phogat and former Indian Hockey captain Sandeep Singh

Among the total 1,169 candidates in the fray, 104 are women. Overall, the state has 1.83 crore eligible voters, among whom 99 lakh are men and 85 lakh are women.

Also read: Maharashtra, Haryana to go polls on October 21, results on October 24

Also read:First all-female spacewalk: Christina Koch & Jessica Meir made history; fixed broken part of ISS

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए


Also Read +