Government constitutes new science and technology council to advise PM

Aug 29, 2018 11:58 IST
    Government constitutes new science and technology council to advise PM
    Government constitutes new science and technology council to advise PM

    The Union Government has constituted a 21-member science and technology council to advise Prime Minister Narendra Modi on matters related to science, technology and innovations.

    The council, named as Prime Minister's Science Technology and Innovation Advisory Committee (PM-STIAC), will be headed by K Vijay Raghavan, the principal scientific adviser to the Union Government.

    Key Details

    The panel will advise the Prime Minister on all matters related to science, technology and innovation and monitor the implementation of PM’s vision on the same.

    It will facilitate the formulation and implementation of policies and decisions and provide action-oriented and future preparedness advise and assist in directing science and technology to solve the socio-economic problems in the country.

    It also aims to lay special emphasis on driving innovation in education and research.

    Composition of the Committee

    The key members of the panel include:

    Manjul Bharghava: Noted mathematician and professor at Princeton University.

    Major General Madhuri Kanitkar: First woman dean of Army Forces Medical College, Pune.

    A S Kiran Kumar: Former ISRO chief

    VK Saraswat: Member of NITI Aayog and former DG of DRDO

    Ajay Sood: Professor at Indian Institute of Science

    Subhash Kak: Professor at Oklahoma State University, United States

    Sangamitra Bandopadhyay: Director of Indian Statistical Institute

    Baba Kalyani: Indian Industrialist and MD of Bharat Forge

    Besides this, secretaries of at least 10 central ministries related to science, technology, energy and education including atomic energy, space, biotechnology, new & renewable energy, environment & forests, agriculture, health & higher education, will be special invitees to the 21-member panel.

    The panel also has the provision to include an additional member, the decision of which has to be taken by the chairman of the committee.


    Video: Check out the latest current affairs of this week

    Read More Current Affairs

    Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Newsletter Signup

    Copyright 2018 Jagran Prakashan Limited.
    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK