Rahul Dravid, Ricky Ponting inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Jul 3, 2018 08:09 IST
Rahul Dravid, Ricky Ponting inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on July 1, 2018 inducted former Indian captain Rahul Dravid, former Australian captain Ricky Ponting and former England Women’s wicket-keeper Claire Taylor into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in a glittering ceremony in Dublin, Ireland.

With the move, Dravid became the fifth Indian player to be named in the Hall of Fame, Ponting became the 25th from Australia and Taylor became the third female player from England to be named on the list and seventh overall. Dravid and Ponting have both scored more than 10,000 runs in Tests and ODIs.

The three former players were selected into the illustrious list by members of the Hall of Fame and the media, as per an ICC press release. The other Indian cricketers to feature in the list include former Indian captains Anil Kumble, Bishan Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar.

Speaking on the development, Dravid said, “It is a matter of great honour to be named by the ICC in the Cricket Hall of Fame. To find your name in a list of all-time greats across generations is something one only dreams of while setting out on a cricket career and the kind of recognition that would delight any player.”

Ponting, who led Australia to World Cup victories in 2003 and 2007 besides being part of the victorious 1999 squad said, “I feel deeply honoured to be recognised by the ICC in this way. I loved every moment of my journey as a player and am so very proud of the team and personal achievements along the way.”

Taylor on the other hand said, "It's a great honour to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame alongside some of the greatest names of the men's and women's game from across the world and throughout the generations, players who I looked up to during my playing career and hold in great esteem.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said, “The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is our way of honouring the greats of our game. Only the very best players in the world are recognised for their contribution to cricket in this way and I would like to congratulate Rahul, Ricky and Claire who are wonderful additions to the list of cricketing luminaries in the Hall of Fame.”

About the Players

 Dravid, Ponting and Taylor inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Rahul Dravid

Dravid has scored 13,288 runs in 164 Tests, which comprises 36 centuries, and has scored 10,889 runs in 344 One Day Internationals (ODIs) with 12 centuries. He has just played one Twenty20 International.

He was named the ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Player of the Year in 2004.

He was also an excellent slip fielder and finished his Test career in 2012 with 210 catches, which is a world record.

 Dravid, Ponting and Taylor inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Ricky Ponting

Ponting, who also ended his career in 2012, has scored a total of 13,378 runs in 168 Tests with 41 centuries and 13,704 runs in 325 ODIs with 30 centuries.

He was named ICC Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and 2007 and ICC Test Player of the Year in 2006.

Ponting reached four ICC Cricket World Cup finals, winning in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

He captained Australia in a record 26 successive unbeaten ICC Cricket World Cup matches from 2003 to 2011.

He also captained the Australian cricket team to victory in the 2006 and 2009 ICC Champions Trophy.

He also featured in 17 Twenty20 Internationals.

 Dravid, Ponting and Taylor inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Claire Taylor

Taylor has scored 1,030 runs in 15 Tests, 4,101 runs in 126 ODIs and 615 runs in 21 T20Is.

She was named ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year in 2009 and player of the tournament in the 2009

ICC Women’s World Cup and Women’s World Twenty20 in the same year.

She ended her career with an average of more than 40 in both Tests and ODIs.

She finished with 18 catches in tests, 41 catches and five stumpings in ODIs and 12 catches and two stumpings in T20Is.

About ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket's long and illustrious history.

It was launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) of Dubai on January 2, 2009, in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA), as part of the ICC's centenary celebrations.

The initial inductees were the 55 players included in the FICA Hall of Fame which ran from 1999 to 2003 but further members are added each year during the ICC Awards ceremony.

The inaugural inductees ranged from W. G. Grace, who retired from Test cricket in 1899, to Graham Gooch, who played his last Test match in 1995.

Members of the Hall of Fame assist in the selection of future inductees.

Among women cricketers, there are seven women in the Hall of Fame.

In 2010, Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, former England women's cricket team captain who led the team to victory in the inaugural Women's World Cup in 1973, became the first woman cricketer in the Hall of Fame.


Read More Current Affairs