Do you know that the Indian aviation service still using a symbol of slavery

To ensure the national identity of an aeroplane; the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) gives a code to all countries. India's aviation service is still using the code "Viceroy Territory (VT)" given during British rule in India. This article will make you aware that why Indian government has not been able to remove this code even after the 70 years of independence. This code can be seen in the last section of all the aeroplanes affiliated to Indian aviation service.
About the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO):-
The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It codifies the principles and techniques of international air navigation and fosters the planning and development of international air transport to ensure safe and orderly growth. Its headquarter is located in Quartier International in Montreal, Canada. I.C.A.O. was established in April 1947.

What does the rule of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) say?
According to, I.C.A.O. all the countries have the right to choose alphabetic code so that the nationality of the aeroplanes can be known at the airports. All the countries providing aviation services under British rule were allocated codes from "VA to VZ". Slave India's aviation service was given "VTA Code", which was changed to "VT" in 1928.
Has India ever tried to change this code?
It is not that India has never tried to change this code. In fact, the Indian government tried to change it in 2004 and applied to give one of the three names:
1. IN i.e. India
2. BH i.e. Bharat
3. HI i.e. Hindustan
But Indian code could not be changed because code of "B" series held by China, so India did not get Bharat, Italy held code of "I" series so India did not get "IN" code and "HI" series has been given to the Dominican Republic that is why India did not get "Hindustan" code. However I.C.A.O. Has given India the option of choosing one of the X and V codes, but both of these codes do not fit with the name of India so India did not accept them.

International Airports of India
Which countries have changed their code?
Here it is worth to mention that all the colonies under the British rule were allotted "VT" code. But after getting the freedom from British rule; Fiji and Nepal changed their codes.
Pakistan used the "VT" code even after some years of independence but later on it changed its code and currently Pakistan is running its aviation service by the code of "AP". Similarly Hong Kong changed its code from BR-H to B-H in 1997.

The issue of "VT" code has been raised in the Indian Parliament in 2016. But the government of India is still unable to find a new code for its airlines industry. Hence Indian airlines industry is still recognized in the world by the code of slavery given by the British rulers in 1928.

19 Laws and Rights must be known to every Indian

Related Categories

Also Read +