Important facts about Board of Control for Cricket in India

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the national governing body for cricket in India. The board was formed in December 1928 as a society, registered under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act.

The BCCI is India's richest sporting body and the richest cricket board in the world. BCCI does not depend on the Government of India for its finances. Hence BCCI is not a government body.

Star Indian had acquired the IPL media rights for ₹16,437.5 crore for a five-year cycle (2018-2022), which amounts to a whopping ₹54.5 crore per match or ₹3,287.5 crore per annum.

Oppo is the current the official Indian cricket team sponsor for a period of five years at a cost of ₹1,079 crore. Official kit sponsorship rights have been awarded to Nike for ₹370 crore for 5 years from 2016 to 2020.

Asian Games: History and List of host Countries

Let’s know facts about BCCI;

1. BCCI headquarter is in Wankhede Stadium, Churchgate, Mumbai,Maharashtra, India.

2. Team sponsor of the Indian Cricket Team is OPPO, title sponsor is Paytm, KIT sponsor is Nike, official partners are Pepsi, Hyundai, Janalakshmi and official broadcaster is Star sports.

3.  BCCI has its own constitution which has specified the rules and regulations for players and administrators for its smooth functioning.

4. Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will still receive ($293 million)the largest share in the new revenue model put in place by the International Cricket Council (ICC) that will be effective from 2016 to 2023. England Cricket Board (ECB) will receive $143m, Zimbabwe Cricket Board $94m and the remaining seven Full Members $132m each.

5. BCCI has international affiliation from ICC while it has regional affiliation from the Asian Cricket Council as well.

6. Support staff of the Indian Cricket Team is;

a. Head coach - India Ravi Shastri

b. Batting coach - India Sanjay Bangar

c. Bowling coach - India Bharat Arun

d. Fielding coach - India Ramakrishnan Sridhar

e. Women's coach- Ramesh Powar

f. Manager - India Sunil Subramaniam

g. Trainer - India Basu Shanker

h. Physio - Australia Patrick Farhart

7. The BCCI organises the following domestic cricket competitions:

a. Indian Premier League

b. Ranji Trophy

c. Duleep Trophy

d. Deodhar Trophy

e. BCCI Corporate Trophy

f. Vijay Hazare Trophy

g. Syed Mushtaq Ali Troph

h. Irani Cup

i. NKP Salve Challenger Trophy

j. Senior Women's One Day League

k. Senior Women's T20 League

8. The President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India is the highest post at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which runs Cricket in India.

9. Currently CK Khanna is the acting BCCI president and Amitabh Choudhary is acting secretary.

Due to the implementation of the justice Lodha committee, the BCCI don’t have any permanent president. Currently it is run by the committee of the administrators lead by the Former CAG Mr. Vinod Rai.

The Supreme Court on 30 January 2017 nominated a four-member panel Committee of Administrators (Vinod Rai, Ramachandra Guha, Vikaram Limaye and Diana Edulji) to look after the administration of the BCCI in order to implement Lodha committee reforms.

Despite absence of its permanent president BCCI is doing great job for the promotion of the Indian cricket. Perhaps that is the reason it has dominating position among all the cricket boards of the world.

List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Do you know the salary of Indian Cricketers?


Related Categories