GK Questions and Answers: European Union

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe.  EU has an estimated population of over 510 million. This set of 10 questions contains all the relevant questions for the competitive exams to be held in India. For the convenience of the aspirants we have given the answers and explanation of the questions. So solve this quiz and evaluate your preparation for the upcoming exams.

1. The term “Inner Six” is related to......

(a) G-24 organisation



(d) European Community Market (EEC)

Ans. d

Explanation: The Inner Six, or simply "the Six", were the six founding member states of the European Communities. European Community Market (EEC) was founded on the basis of the Rome treaty in 1957. Countries involved in the inner six includes; Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands and West Germany.

2.  Currently how many members are in the European Union?

(a) 27

(b)  28

(c)  53

(d)  17

Ans. b

Explanation: As on 31 May 2018, there are 28 members in the EU. United Kingdom is about to leave this organisation, but officially not left this organisation this is why its current membership is 28.

3. Which of the following country is not the member of the EU?

(a) Estonia

 (b) Denmark

(c) Switzerland

(d) Malta

Ans. c

Explanation: Switzerland is not the member of the EU while rest of the countries given in the option are members of the EU.

4. Which of the following statement is NOT correct about the EU?

(a) Germany is the founder member of the EU

(b) Croatia is the latest member of the EU.

(c) Among all the members of the EU, Malta has smallest area

(d) All the member countries of the EU use EURO as the currency of their state.

Ans. d

Explanation: The EURO is the official currency of the European Union. Currently 19 of 28 member states use the euro: this group of states is known as the Euro zone. It is the second most traded currency in the Foreign Exchange Market after the US dollar.

5. Which of the following 2 countries are not the participants of the euro zone?

(a)  Luxembourg, Malta

(b) Denmark and the United Kingdom

(c) Austria, Belgium

(d) Slovenia, Spain

Ans. b

Explanation: The Euro zone consists of Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain. Other EU states Denmark and the United Kingdom are not part of the Euro zone.

6. Where is the headquarters of the EU?

(a) Belgium

(b) Netherlands

(c) Luxembourg

(d) Greece

Ans. a

Explanation: The headquarters of the EU is in City of Brussels, Belgium. With just 6.9% of the world’s population, the EU's trade with the rest of the world accounts for around 20% of global exports and imports. The size of its economy is around €14,600 billion in terms of production of goods and services in 2014.

7. Which of the following was/were the objective of the EU?

(a)  Establishing an economic and a monetary union

(b) Implementing a common foreign and defence policy

(c) Developing relations in the spheres of’ home affairs and justice

(d) All of the above

Ans. d


The EU aims at the closer economic and political integration of the member countries in the following ways:

1. Establishing an economic and a monetary union

2. Implementing a common foreign and defence policy

3. Strengthening of its economic and political institutions

4. Developing relations in the spheres of’ home affairs and justice

8. Who is the current President of the European Commission?

(a) Jean-Claude Juncker

(b) Herman Van Rompuy

(c) Donald Tusk

(d) None of the above

Ans. a

Explanation: Jean-Claude Juncker is the current President of the European Commission. He was appointed on the post on November 2014 and will hold the post till the October 2019.

800+Quiz on Indian Economy


Related Categories


View More