GK Questions and Answers: International Cricket Council (ICC)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the global governing body for cricket. The ICC presides over the ICC Code of Conduct, playing conditions, the Decision Review System and other ICC regulations. This set of 10 questions is based on the International Cricket Council. These questions are very important for the aspirants preparing for the competitive exams like; UPSC, PSC, SSC and other one day exams.

1. Which of the following statement is not correct about ICC?

(a) The ICC is the global governing body for cricket.

(b) ICC has 53 members

(c) ICC is also responsible for the staging of all ICC Events.

(d) The ICC also appoints all match officials that officiate at all sanctioned international matches.

Answer: b

Explanation: Explanation: The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the global governing body for cricket. It has 104 members. There are two types of ICC members. 1. Full Members (12) are the governing bodies for cricket of a country recognised by the ICC and (2). Other type is Associate Members (92), which do not qualify as a Full Member.

2.  Which countries are the latest full time members of the ICC?

(a) Afghanistan and Ireland

(b) Bangladesh and Nepal

(c) Trinidad & Tobago and Burundi

(d) None of the above

Answer: a

Explanation: Afghanistan and Ireland are the latest full time members of the ICC. These both countries are included in the list of full time members in the ICC Annual Conference at London in 2017.  Afghanistan and Ireland are the latest test playing countries.

3. Which of the following is the oldest test cricket playing country in the world?

(a) Australia

(b) India

(c) West Indies

(d) South Africa

Answer: a

Explanation: Australia and England are the first two countries which got the status of test playing country since 15 March 1877. The first officially recognised Test match took place on 15–19 March 1877 and was played between England and Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), where Australia won by 45 runs.

4. Where is the headquarter of the ICC?

(a) London

(b) Cape town

(c) Sydney

(d) Dubai

Answer: d

Explanation: The headquarter of the ICC is in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

5. When was ICC established?

(a) 1909

(b) 1953

(c) 1960

(d)  1877

Answer: a

Explanation: The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the international governing body of cricket. It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from Australia, England  and South Africa, renamed the International Cricket Conference in 1965, and took up its current name as International Cricket Council (ICC) in 1989.

6.  Which of the following international competition is not organized by the ICC?

(a) Champions Trophy

(b) World Cricket League

(c) Under-19 Cricket World Cup

(d) Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Answer: d

Explanation:  The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is a Twenty20 cricket domestic championship in India, organized by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), among the teams from Ranji Trophy. Except Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy all the mentioned tournaments are Ogranised by the ICC.

7.  Who is the current Chairman of the ICC?

(a) David Richardson

(b) Shashank Manohar

(c) Narayanaswami Srinivasan

(d) None of the above

Answer:  b

Explanation: The Chairman of the International Cricket Council is the highest-ranked official of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The position of the Chairman was established in 2014 after a revamp of the management of ICC. Narayanaswami Srinivasan was the first chairman of the ICC and Shashank Manohar is the current chairman since 22 November 2015.

8.  Who is chosen at the ICC men's cricketer of the year 2017?

(a) K.L. Rahul

(b) Virat Kohli

(c) Steve Smith

(d) Hasan Ali

Answer: b

Explanation: Virat Kohli is chosen as the ICC men’s cricketer of the year-2017. Kolhi also chosen for the ICC  men’s one day cricketer of the year-2017 award.

9. Who of the following was the last President of the ICC?

(a) Sharad Pawar

(b) Alan Isaac

(c) Zaheer Abbas

(d) Mustafa Kamal

Answer: c

Explanation: Zaheer Abbas (Pakistan) served as the last President of ICC. In 2016 the position of the President of ICC was abolished and now this position is replaced by the Chairman of the ICC.

10. When was the first Cricket World Cup held?

(a) 1975

(b) 1953

(c) 1979

(d) 1928

Answer: a

Explanation:  The 1975 Cricket World Cup was the first edition of the Cricket World Cup, organised by the International Cricket Conference (ICC). It was held from 7 to 21 June 1975 in England and won by West Indies.

To solve 500+ MCQs on sports

Related Categories

Also Read +