Jagranjosh Education Awards 2021: Click here if you missed it!

List of Hat-Tricks in Cricket World Cups

Every Indian must feel proud to know that the first cricket World Cup hat-trick was taken by the Chetan Sharma of India.
Interesting to know that all three New Zealand players were bowled by the Chetan Sharma. His victims were Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith and Ewen Chatfield.

We had to wait for 3 more editions of the World Cup or 12 years to know the name of second hat trick holder in the cricket World Cup. This was Pakistan off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq who took 3 wickets of Zimbabwe at oval ground.

Since the first edition of the cricket World Cup there are 9 bowlers have taken 10 hat-tricks. Lasith Malinga is the only player in the cricket world who took two hat-tricks in the cricket World Cups.

In fact Malinga is the only players who have taken 4 wickets in the four balls in the World Cup. Malinga achieved this feat against South Africa in 2007 World Cup.

In the cricket World Cup history India and Sri Lanka are the only two teams whose 2 players have taken hat-tricks in the cricket World Cups.

So now the situation is like this; first ever cricket hat-trick of the World Cup was taken by the Indian player and the latest hat trick is also claimed by the Indian cricketer Md. Sami. 

New Zealand's pacer Trent Boult became only 2nd bowler after Mohammed Shami to pick up a hat-trick in the 12th edition of the world cup. He achieved this feat against Australia at Lord's ground.

Trent Boult became the 1st New Zealand bowler to pick up a World Cup hat-trick.

List of hat tricks in the Cricket World Cup is as follows;



Venue/World Cup

1. Chetan Sharma (IND)

New Zealand

Nagpur, 1987

2. Saqlain Mushtaq (PAK)


London, 1999

3. Chaminda Vaas  (SL)


Pietermaritzburg, 2003

4. Brett Lee (AUS)


Durban, 2003

5. Lasith Malinga (SL)

South Africa

Providence, 2007

6. Kemar Roach (WI)


Delhi, 2011

7. Lasith Malinga (SL)


Colombo, 2011

8. Steven Finn (ENG)


Melbourne, 2015

9. JP Duminy (SA)

Sri Lanks

Sydney, 2015

10. Muhammad Sami (IND)


Southampton, 2019

11. Trent Boult (New Zealand)


Lord's (London), 2019

Worth to mention that World Cups of 2003 and 2015 are the only two World Cups in which two hat-tricks have been taken. It’s quite surprising that no hat trick is taken in the Cricket World Cup of 1985, 1992 and 1996.

Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe and Ireland are the only test match playing teams that did not taken any hat-trick in the ICC cricket World Cup.

So this was the complete list of hat-trick holders in the Cricket World Cups. We hope that names of some more Indian bowlers will be included in this list in the coming World Cups.

Cricket World Cup Centuries: Indian Cricketers

ICC Cricket World Cup Records: Runs, Wickets and Centuries

Related Categories

Also Read +

Live users reading now