Are you worried or stressed? Click here for Expert Advice

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup History: A look at the head-to-head records between the two arch-rivals

Arfa Javaid

A World Cup match between India and Pakistan is the most entertaining match and grips the cricket fans and is rightly termed as the mother of all clashes. India’s opening T20 World Cup 2021 match against its arch-rival Pakistan was held on 24 October 2021. The two teams were placed in Group 2 of Super 12.

The two neighbours faced each other in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 for the first time since the 2019 World Cup. Pakistan won the match by 10 wickets. Let us now have a look at the head-to-head records between the two arch-rivals, India and Pakistan. 

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup History

Match Date



14 September 2007

Durban, South Africa

Tied, India won via Bowl-out

24 September 2007

Johannesburg, South Africa

India won by 5 runs

30 September 2012

Colombo, Sri Lanka

India won by 8 wickets

21 March 2014

Dhaka, Bangladesh

India won by 7 wickets

19 March 2016

Kolkata, India

India won by 6 wickets

24 October 2021

Dubai, UAE


India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2007

A. 14 September 2007 (Durban, South Africa): During the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in 2007, India and Pakistan were placed in the same group. Pakistan won the toss and chose to bowl. Pakistan chased the 141 runs target set by India, and the match was tied. 

The officials then decided to announce the winner based on the bowl-out and India came out as the winner of the match in Durban, South Africa. 

B. 24 September 2007 (Johannesburg, South Africa): This is a historic day for India as on this day 14 years ago men in blue became the World T20 Champions after defeating their arch-rival, Pakistan. India defeated Pakistan by 5 runs in a thrilling final at Johannesburg, South Africa. 

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2012

A. 30 September 2012 (Colombo, Sri Lanka): During the 2012 T20 World Cup Super 8 match between India and Pakistan, the former chased down a target of 129 runs to beat Pakistan by a massive 8-wicket margin. Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, Indian cricketer Virat Kohli bowled three overs and clinched the wicket of Pakistan batsman Mohammed Hafeez. 

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2014

A. 21 March 2014 (Dhaka, Bangladesh): Batting first in the match, Pakistan set a 131-run target for India. India chased down the scanty target and won the match by 7 wickets. In the 2014 T20 World Cup, India lost the finals to Sri Lanka and became the runner up. 

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2016

A. 19 March 2016 (Kolkata, India): For the third consecutive time in the running chase, India defeated its arch-rival Pakistan. The 118 runs target set by Pakistan was achieved by India with 6 wickets remaining.  

India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2021

A. 24 October 2021 (Dubai, UAE): The 2021 T20 World Cup between India and Pakistan was very fascinating as the two neighbouring countries faced each other after a gap of more than two years. The match was held at Dubai International Stadium, Dubai at 7:30 p.m. 

Pakistan won the toss and chose to bowl. India set a target of 152 runs for Pakistan which it chased down well and won the match by 10 wickets. 

For more information on T20 World Cup 2021, go through the below links: 

T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule: Dates, Matches, Venues, Timings, Teams, and Winners

List of ICC Men's T20 World Cup Winners (2007-2021)

Top 10 players who have scored most runs in T20 International (T20I)

List of fastest centuries in T20 International Cricket

रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश

Related Categories

Live users reading now