List of all the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, are a global initiative to end poverty, protect the environment, reduce economic inequality and ensure peace and justice for all.

These 17 Goals build on the successes of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) which ended in 2015. Unlike the MDGs, the SDG framework does not distinguish between "developed" and "developing" nations. Instead, the goals apply to all countries. These goals are interconnected and based on the principle of “leaving no one behind”. There are 169 targets for the 17 goals.

On 25 September 2015, the 193 countries of the UN General Assembly adopted the 2030 development agenda for Sustainable Development.

In this article we are publishing the list of 17 the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and their prime objectives;

Let’s have a look




 Goal -1

 No Poverty

 By 2030, eradicate extreme poverty for all people everywhere.

 Goal -2

 Zero Hunger

 End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition by 2030.

 Goal -3

 Good Health and Well-being

 Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages by 2030.

 Goal -4

 Quality Education

 Ensure that all girls and boys complete free, equitable and quality primary and secondary education by 2030.

 Goal -5

 Gender Equality

 To achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

 Goal -6

 Clean Water and Sanitation

 Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all by 2030.

 Goal -7

 Affordable and Clean Energy

 Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all by 2030.

 Goal -8

 Decent Work and Economic Growth

 Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth.

 Goal -9

 Industry, Innovation and  Infrastructure

 Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation by 2030.

 Goal -10

 Reduced Inequality

 Reduce inequality within and among countries by 2030.

 Goal -11

 Sustainable Cities and Communities

 Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable.

 Goal -12

 Responsible Consumption and Production

 Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

 Goal -13

 Climate Action

 Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.

 Goal -14

 Life Below Water

 Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development.

 Goal -15

 Life on Land

 Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, combat desertification and halt biodiversity loss.

 Goal -16

 Peace and Justice Strong Institutions

 Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development; provide access to justice for all.

 Goal -17

 Partnerships to achieve the Goal

 Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

So the above mentioned sustainable development goals (SDGs) are covering almost every aspect of the human life. If these goals are achieved within the stipulated time, it’s sure that the life of poor throughout the world will be easier.

Government of India established the NITI Aayog to attain the sustainable development goals. In March 2018 Haryana became the first state in India whose annual budget intended to achieve the sustainable development goals (SDGs) by 2030.

What is International Solar Alliance?


Related Categories