Jagranjosh Education Awards 2021: Click here if you missed it!

List of Hat-Tricks of Wickets in T20 International Cricket

Definition of Hat-Trick of wickets in International Cricket

When a bowler takes three wickets on 3 consecutive deliveries or dismissing three different batsmen in an International cricket match; it is called the hat-trick of wickets in cricket.

There are 104 hat-tricks have been claimed in all the three formats of the International cricket i.e. Test, ODI and T 20 cricket till date.

List of Triple Centuries in Test Cricket: Current GK

The very first hat-trick in the Twenty 20 International (T20I) was taken by the Australian Bret Lee. Lee achieved this feat against Bangladesh on 16 September 2007.

Hat trick of wickets in the T20I cricket is a tough task as compared to Test and ODI cricket because the bowler gets just 24 balls in a match. Perhaps that is the reason that only 12 hat-tricks have been claimed in over 1,000 matches so far.

Lasith Malinga is the only bowler in T20 history who has claimed more than one hat-trick in the Twenty20 International (T20I).

Another interesting fact is that Lasith Malinga and Rashid Khan are the only bowlers to take four wickets in four balls in T20 cricket.

List of all Hat Tricks of wickets in T20I Cricket;




1. Bret Lee


16 September 2007

2. Jacob Oram (New Zealand)

Sri Lanka

 2 September 2009

3.Tim Southee (New Zealand)  


26 December 2010

4. Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka)


12 February 2016

5. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)


 6 April 2017

6. Faheem Ashraf (Pakistan)

Sri Lanka

27 October 2017

7. Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)


24 February 2019

8. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

New Zealand

6 September 2019

9. Mohammad Hasnain (Pakistan)

Sri Lanka

5 October 2019

10. Khawar Ali (Oman)


9 October 2019

11. Norman Vanua (Papua New Guinea)


19 October 2019

12. Deepak Chahar (India)


10 November 2019

Interesting Facts about hat tricks are;

1. Deepak Chahar became the first Indian who has claimed hat -trick of wickets in T20I.

2.  There are 3 hat -tricks of wickets claimed by the Sri Lankan players; the most by any team so far.

3. Six hat-tricks of wickets have been claimed in 2019 alone.

4. First hat-trick of wicket in Test cricket was claimed by the Fred Spofforth (Australia) against England on 2 January 1879.

5. Harbhajan Singh was the first Indian to claim a hat-trick of wickets in Test cricket in 2001.

6. Three Indian players have claimed hat-tricks of wickets in Test cricket. Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, and Jasprit Bumrah. 

7. In total 44 hat-tricks of wickets have been earned in Test cricket so far.

8. The very first hat-trick of wickets in ODI was taken by the Jalal-ud-Din (Pakistan) against Australia on 20 September 1982. 

9. Chetan Sharma was the first Indian who took a hat-trick of wickets in ODI on 31 October 1987.

10. In total 48 hat-tricks of wickets have been claimed in ODI.

So this was the list of all 12 hat-tricks of wickets claimed in the T20I matches to date.  Click below for more such articles…

List of Top 20 Players with most Centuries in International Cricket

List of Cricketers who have scored 10,000 runs in ODI


Related Categories

Also Read +

Live users reading now