List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The ICC Cricket "Hall of Fame" recognises the achievements of the legends of the cricket. The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame was launched on 2 January 2009 when five new inductees; Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Clarrie Grimmett, Herbert Sutcliffe and Victor Trumper were announced as new members of the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame at the LG ICC Awards. The existing members of the Hall of Fame assist in the selection of future inductees. 

Since 1932 till date just 5 Indians have been included in this list. Rahul Dravid, the former wall of Indian cricket is the latest Indian player who is included in the list of ICC hall of fame in 2018 along with Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting and retired England woman wicketkeeper-batter Claire Taylor. In 2010, Rachael Heyhoe Flint, former England women's cricket team captain became the first woman to be inducted in the Hall of Fame list.

Cricket is considered the game of men; perhaps this is the reason that out of 87 players only 7 women have been included in the list so far.

The list of Indian players who are inducted in the ICC fame of list is as follows;



Induction year

 1. Bishan Singh Bedi



 2. Kapil Dev



 3. Sunil Gavaskar



 4. Anil Kumble



 5. Rahul Dravid



Since 2 January 2009, there are 87 players have been included in the ICC hall of fame list. The most numbers of players 28 are from England followed by the Australia (25) and West Indies (18).

Some intresting facts about ICC Hall of fame are as follows;

1. There are seven women in the Hall of Fame.

2. Initial there were 55 inductees in the FICA Hall of Fame which ran from 1999 to 2003 but further members are added each year during the ICC Awards ceremony.

3. Rachael Heyhoe Flint, former England women's cricket team captain became the first woman to be included in the Hall of Fame in 2010.

4. There is no indian women cricketer included in this list.

5. Australian Rodney Marsh was the first member of the initial inductees who receive commemorative cap of hall of fame.

It is very surprising for every cricketer lover of the world that the renowned Indian master blaster, Sachin Tendulkar is not included in this list.  But we are optimistic that the ICC will check it eligibility criteria and will include Mr. Tendulkar in the list soon.

How Bowling Speed is calculated in Cricket Matches

When a chess player is called Grand Master?


Related Categories