Are you worried or stressed? Click here for Expert Advice

List of Indian field hockey captains in Olympics Games (1928-2020)

Hemant Singh

The Indian hockey team had a very golden time from Amsterdam Olympic 1928 to Melbourne Olympics 1956. During this period Indian team won 6 consecutive gold medals. The first captain of the India hockey team at the Olympic event was Jaipal Singh Munda.

There are a total of 21 players who have led the Indian team at the Olympics since 1928. This article mentions the list of all field hockey players who have captained the Indian Men's Hockey Team in the Olympics. 

(Indian Hockey team in 1928 Olympic)

List of Indian Men's Hockey Team Captains in Olympics

                         Captain Name


Rank in Olympic

1. Jaipal Singh Munda

Amsterdam Olympics 1928

Gold medal

2. Lal Shah Bokhari

Los Angeles Olympics 1932

Gold medal

3. Dhyan Chand

Berlin Olympics 1936

Gold medal

4. Kishan Lal

London Olympics  1948

Gold medal

5.K. D. Singh

Helsinki Olympics 1952

Gold medal

6. Balbir Singh Senior

Melbourne Olympics 1956

Gold medal

7.Leslie Claudius

Rome Olympics 1960

Silver medal

8. Charanjit Singh

Tokyo Olympics 1964

Gold medal

9. Gurbux Singh and

10. Prithipal Singh

Mexico City Olympics 1968

Bronze medal

11.Harmik Singh

 Munich Olympics  1972

Bronze medal

12. Ajit Pal Singh

Montreal Olympics 1976

7th Position

13. Vasudevan Baskaran

Moscow Olympics  1980

Gold medal

14. Zafar Iqbal

Los Angeles Olympics 1984

5th Position

15. Sommayya Maneypande

Seoul Olympics 1988

6th Position

16. Pargat Singh

Barcelona Olympics 1992

7th Position

16.Pargat Singh

Atlanta Olympics 1996

8th Position

17.Ramandeep Singh

Sydney Olympics 2000

7th Position

18. Dilip Tirkey

Athens Olympics 2004

7th Position

19. Bharat Chetri

London Olympics 2012

12th Position

20. P. R. Sreejesh

Rio Olympics 2016

8th position

21. Manpreet Singh

Tokyo Olympics 2020


Major Dhyan Chand represented Indian Men's Hockey Team at the Berlin Olympics 1936. The team won Gold Medal at the Olympics. 

P.R. Sreejesh captained the Indian Men's Hockey Team at the Rio Olympics 2016. Indian team secured 8th position in this Olympics that year.

Overall, the Indian hockey team has won 8 gold, 1 silver, and 2 bronze medals at the Olympic Events.

The last time India won the Gold medal was at Moscow Olympics,1980. The team was led by Vasudevan Baskaran. Since then the Indian team could not even secure 4th place at the Olympic event.

The hopes were high at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, however, the Indian Men's Hockey Team lost to Belgium 2-5 in the men's hockey semifinal and will now play in the bronze-medal playoff. 

So, this was the list of all field hockey players who have captained the Indian Men's Hockey Team in the Olympics. To read more interesting articles, click on the link given below:

ICC Cricket World Cup Winning Captains: Year-wise complete list since 1975

National Sports Day: A Tribute to Major Dhyan Chand

रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश

Related Categories

Live users reading now