List of National Security Advisor in India

The National Security Advisor (NSA) is the senior official on the National Security Council (NSC) of India. NSA is the chief Advisor to the Prime Minister of India on national and international security policy. Currently Ajit Doval is the current NSA; he is pursuing his second term and gets the rank of Cabinet Minister in the current NDA government.

Before Ajit Doval; there were 4 persons have been appointed at the post of National Security Advisor. Mr Brajesh Mishra; an Indian Foreign Service officer was the first national security officer in India appointed by the former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee on November 1998 who remained in office till 22 May 2004.

The list of all the National Security Advisor is;



Prime Minister

1. Brajesh Mishra (IFS)

November 1998 to 22 May 2004

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

2. J. N. Dixit (IFS)

23 May 2004 to 3 January 2005

Manmohan Singh

3. M. K. Narayanan (IPS)

3 January 2005 to 23 January 2010

Manmohan Singh

4. Shivshankar Menon (IFS)

24 January 2010 to 28 May 2014

Manmohan Singh

5. Ajit Doval  (IPS)

30 May 2014,  Incumbent

Narendra Modi


The appointment of the NSA is done by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC). This committee is headed by the Prime Minister of India.

Currently there are two deputy NSA i.e.Retired IPS Rajinder Khanna and Pankaj Saran, IFS. These two deputies assist the NSA in his operations.

Functions of National Security Advisor

The National Security Advisor (NSA) advises the Prime Minister of India on all matters relating to external & internal security threats to India.

The National Security Advisor (NSA) receives all intelligence reports and present them before the Prime Minister. The NSA take part in the oversees strategic and sensitive issues on behalf of the Prime Minister of India.

The NSA of India also serves as the Prime Minister's Special envoy with China as well as the Pakistan and Israel on security affairs. You must have seen NSA accompanies the Prime Minister on official foreign and State visits.

The current NSA of India; Ajit Doval is given the rank of Cabinet Minister and he receives salary of Rs.162,500 per month.

So this was the complete list of national security advisor of India. We hope that list of NSA is very crucial for many competitive exams; hence students need to remember it thoroughly.


What is Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA)? 


What is NIA Amendment Bill 2019?

Related Categories

Also Read +