List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award winners

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in Sports and Games, is the highest sporting honour of the Republic of India. It was started in 1991–92. The winner of this award get 7.5 lac rupees. This award is given annually to those sports person who make country proud at the international events.

Various awards given in the field of sports are: Arjuna Award, Eklavya Award, Major Dhyana Chand Award, Dronacharya Award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. This article has published the names of the players who are honoured with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award till date.

Winners of 2018 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award are;

       Player Name  



 1. Viswanathan Anand



 2. Geet Sethi  



 3. Homi de Motivala and PK Garg



 4. Karnam Malleswari



 5. Kunjurani Devi and Leander Paes

 Weightlifting, Lawn Tennis


 6. Sachin Tendulkar



 7. Jyotirmoyee Sikandar



 8. Dhanraj Pillai



 9. Pullela Gopichand



 10. Abhinav Bindra



 11. Anjali Bhagwat and K. M. Binamol

 Shooting, Athletics


 12. Anju Bobby George



 13. Rajya Vardhan ,Singh Rathore



 14. Pankaj Advani

 Billiards and Snooker


 15. Manavjit Singh Sandhu



 16. Mahendra Singh Dhoni



 17. M.C. Marikom, Vijender Singh, Sushil Kumar

 Boxing, Boxing, Wrestling


 18. Saina Nehwal



 19. Gagan Narang



 20. Vijay Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt

 Shooting, Wrestling


 21. Ranjan Sodhi



 22. Sania Mirza

 Lawn Tennis


 23. P. V. Sindhu, Deepa Kamikar, Sakshi Bhai and Jitu Rai

 Badminton, Gymnastics, Wrestling, Shooting


 24. Devendra Jhajaria, Sardar Singh

 Javelin throw, Hockey


 25. Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu  Cricket, Weightlifting  2018

Do you know the members of first Indian cricket team

Some interesting facts about Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award are:

1. It is the highest sporting honour of the Republic of India.

2. It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

3. This award was instituted in 1991-92.

4. Chess Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand was the first recipient of this award.

5. From 1992 to 2018, 35 sportsmen got this award.

What is the Duckworth Lewis Method and how it is applied in cricket


Related Categories