JagranJosh Education Awards 2022 - Nominations Open!

Navratri 2021: Dates, History, Celebrations, Colours and Significance

Shikha Goyal

Navratri 2021: The Shardiya Navratri festival is just around the corner. The festival is dedicated to Goddess Durga. In Sanskrit Navratri literally means nine nights. Goddess Durga is worshipped these nine days and is popularly known as Navdurga. The festival will begin from October 7 and will end on October 15, 2021.

The significance of the Navratri can be observed across India. The Navratri festival is celebrated in India in several regions with the most zeal. In West Bengal, it is celebrated as Durga Puja. In Gujarat, Navratri is the representation of nightlife. People wear colourful costumes, there are loudspeakers and packed stadiums of people full of excitement performing Garba. Every street is lit up.

We can say that Navratri is translated into nine nights which is a celebration of nine forms of goddesses, the supreme being, creator, and destroyer of elements. Among the deities, she represents feminity. 

According to the Hindu Calendar, Navratri falls in the month of Ashwin in the Ritu season of Sharad and so is named Sharad Navratri or Shardiya Navratri. 

Navratri Types

1. Sharad Navratri
It falls on Shukla Paksha of the Month of Ashwin, mainly September/October as per Gregorian Calendar.

2. Chaitra Navratri
It falls on Shukla Paksha of the month of Chaitra, mainly falls in the month of March/April. This also marks the new year of the Hindu Lunar calendar.

3 and 4rth are Ashad and Magha Navratri

These are also known as secret Navratris. These are observed by Sadhaks to attain the Siddhi.

Therefore from 7 October 2021, Shardiya Navratri is beginning. It is the most popular Navratri and significant of all Navratris. Therefore, Shardiya Navratri is also called Maha Navratri.

In Navratri each day is dedicated to the incarnation of Durga. And after the ninth day that is the tenth day in some regions, Dussehra or Vijayadashmi is observed which marks the victory of Lord Rama over King Ravana. 

The festival of Navratri also revolves around the legend of the battle between goddess Durga and demon Mahishasura. In the battle, Mahishasura is defeated and signifies the victory of good over evil. 

On this occasion, people do fasting and others gorge on festive feasts. Some devotees fast for all nine days and some observe in Jodas or couple. While fasting some eat foods including kuttu ka aata, singhare ka aata, fruits, dairy products, etc.

Shardiya Navratri 2021: Date and Days associated with each day

Day Date Puja and Avatars of Maa Durga
Day 1, Navratri 7 October, Thursday Ghatasthapana, Shailputri Puja
Day 2, Navratri 8 October, Friday Brahmacharini Puja
Day 3, Navratri 9 October, Saturday Chandraghanta Puja
Day 4, Navratri 10 October, Sunday Skandamata Puja
Day 5, Navratri 11 October, Monday Katyayani Puja
Day 6, Navratri 12 October, Tuesday Kalaratri Puja
Day7, Navratri 13 October, Wednesday Durga Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja
Day 8, Navratri 14 October, Thursday Maha Navami, Ayudha Puja
Day 9, Navratri 15 October, Friday Navratri Parana, Durga Visarjan

Significance of Navratri festival

As discussed above it is a nine-day festival that signifies the victory of good over evil. It is believed that Shardiya Navratri worshipping Goddess Durga can help in getting salvation and seek her blessings for the future. Goddess Durga is a symbol of Shakti that is the ultimate strength. 

Important Days and Dates in October 2021


रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश

Related Categories

Live users reading now