What is 'Tsunami Ready' tag given to two Odisha villages by UNESCO?

In a first, two Odisha villages have been recognised by the UNESCO as 'Tsunami Ready', with India becoming the first country in the Indian Ocean Region to implement it. 

World Tsunami Awareness Day 2019: History and Theme

Which Indian villages have got the tag?

The two villages of Odisha-- Venkatraipur in Ganjam district and Noliasahi in Jagatsingpur district have got the 'Tsunami Ready' tag for their overall preparedness to face the calamity from the  Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO. 

Who presented the certificates and how? 

M. Rajeevan, Secretary of Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) and G.V.V Sarma, Member Secretary, National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), presented the Certificate of Appreciation as well as the Certificate of Recognition to the two villages to Odisha and also to the Odisha State Disaster Management Agency (OSDMA). 

The certificates were presented in a virtual event organised by the Indian National Centre for Oceanic Information Services (INCOIS) and the Indian Ocean Tsunami Information Centre (IOTIC).

What are the criteria for recognition?

The criteria for recognition are as follows:

1- Community tsunami risk reduction plan

2- Designated and mapped tsunami hazard zones

3- Public display of tsunami information

4- Easily understood tsunami evacuation maps

5- Outreach and public education materials

6- Three outreach or educational activities annually

7- Annual tsunami community exercise

8- Address tsunami hazards in the community's emergency operations plan

9- Supporting the emergency operations centre during a tsunami

10- Reliable means for a 24-hour warning point to receive official tsunami threats

11- Issuance of round the clock tsunami alerts to the public

How this tag is beneficial to the state?

The tag will help Odisha to become a role model for the preparedness of the tsunami. As per PK Jena, Managing Director of Odisha State Disaster Management Authority stated that this award will motivate to make 326 villages and urban local bodies tsunami ready within a year. 

What is the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO?

The Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO was established by a resolution 2.31 adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO. The first meeting was held at UNESCO Headquarters in the year 1961. Initially, 40 states joined as its member nation. 

The IOC assists governments in addressing their individual and collective ocean and coastal management needs by sharing knowledge, information and technology through programs, research and observations. 

The Indian Ocean Tsunami Ready Programme of IOC-UNESCO is a community-based programme facilitating tsunami preparedness through the collaboration of community, its leaders, national and local emergency management agencies. The main objective is to improve the coastal community preparedness for tsunami, minimize the loss of life and property and to ensure the structural and systematic approach in building the community preparedness. 

Related Categories

Also Read +