List of 10 fastest Centuries in ODIs

The fastest century in the ODI scored by the AB de Villiers in just 31 balls against West Indies in 2015. The first ODI century was scored by ‘Denis Amiss’ who scored 103 runs against Australia at Old Trafford in 1972. Till date there are 116 cricketers have scored 15 or more international centuries and 43 cricketers have scored 30 or more centuries in the all the three formats of the cricket. 
Nov 22, 2019 16:19 IST
facebook Iconfacebook Iconfacebook Icon
Fastest ODI Scorers
Fastest ODI Scorers

Sachin Tendulkar is the century king in the international cricket. He has scored 100 centuries in the international cricket. Ricky Ponting is at number two position in terms of highest number of centuries. Ponting has scored 41 test centuries and 30 in the ODI centuries. Indian veteran cricketer Kohli is at the third position with 68 International centuries.

If I talked about the fastest century in the ODIs then as of now current fastest century record holder is AB de Villiers who scored ODI century in just 31 balls against West Indies in 2015.

Let’s have a look on the list of fastest century scorers in the ODIs.




1. AB de Villiers (RSA)

31 balls/ 149


2. Corey Anderson (NZ)

36 balls/ 131*


3. Shahid Afridi (PAK)

37 balls/ 102


4. Mark Boucher (RSA)

44 balls/ 147*


5. Brian Lara (WI)

45 balls/117


6. Shahid Afridi (PAK)

45 balls/102


7. JD Ryder (NZ)

46 balls/104


8. JC Buttler (ENG)

46 balls/116


9. ST Jayasuriya (SL)

48 balls/134


10. JC Buttler (ENG)

50 balls/110


Other facts related to century in international cricket

1. Virat Kohli has scored his fastest century in just 52 balls against Australia in 2013. This is the fastest century by any Indian cricketer in ODIs.

2. After the Virat Kohli; Virendra Sehwag is the other Indian who had scored century in just 60 balls. Sehwag scored his fastest and second fastest Indian century against New Zealand in 2009.

3. The fastest century in Test cricket scored by Brendon McCullum. He scored 100 runs from 54 balls against Australia at Christchurch, New Zealand in 2016.

4. Fastest century in the Twenty 20 international scored by the David Miller of South Africa. He has scored century in the just 35 balls against Bangladesh on 29 October 2017. Rohit Sharma of India has also scored T-20 century in just 35 balls against Sri Lanka on 22 December 2017.

5. Chris Gayle scored the fastest century in Twenty 20 in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2013. He touched this milestone in just 30 balls.

So this was the list of top 10 fastest centuries in the one day International matches. I hope the name of Virat Kolhi will be included in the top 10 list sooner or later.

What is the history of Ashes Series?

Virat Kohli's ODI Centuries:Complete List