GK Question and Answer on Indian Polity: Union Territories of India

12-SEP-2017 03:24

India currently has 7 union territories and 29 states. In this article, a questionnaire of 10 questions on "Union Territory of India" is being given which contains questions and answered with explanation for the convenience of the students.

1. In which of the following union territory a Council of Ministers is elected?

(a) Delhi

(b) Chandigarh

(c) Andaman and Nicobar Islands

(d) Daman and Diu

Answer a

Explanation: Delhi and Puducherry are the only two union territories where a Council of Ministers is elected.

2. Which of the following statements is not correct?

(a) India currently does not have any acquired state?

(b) Union Territory is the area which is directly under the control of Central Government

(c) Delhi has been known as "National Capital Region" since 1992.

(d) The Andaman and Nicobar islands come under the jurisdiction of the "Madras High Court".

Answer d

Explanation: The Andaman & Nicobar Islands comes under the jurisdiction of "Kolkata High Court".

3. Which of the following union territory's MLAs do not participate in the election of the President of India?

(a) Lakshadweep

(b) Chandigarh

(c) Puducherry

(d) both a and b

Answer d

Explanation: Members of the Delhi and Puducherry Legislature participate only in the election of President.

4. Who governs the union territory "Daman and Diu"?

(a) Deputy Governor

(b) Administrator

(c) Chief Minister

(d) Gujarat High Court

Answer b

Explanation: Administrator

5. Who appoints the Chief Minister of Delhi?

(a) President of India

(b) Home Minister

(c) Deputy Governor

(d) None of the following

Answer a

Explanation: The President appoints all Ministers including the Chief Minister.

6. Who heads the Union Territory of Delhi?

(a) President

(b) Deputy Governor

(c) Home Minister

(d) a and b both

Answer a

Explanation: President of India

7. Which of the following Union Territories can make laws on concurrent list?

(a) Chandigarh

(b) Jammu and Kashmir

(c) Puducherry

(d) Lakshadweep

Answer c

Explanation: Puducherry

8. Which constitutional amendment envisaged delhi the status of special state?

(a) 91st

(b) 69th

(c) 54th

(d) 73rd

Answer b

Explanation: Based on the 69th Constitutional Amendment (1991), Delhi has been given status of special state?

9. The Chief Minister of Delhi will give his resignation to......

(a) The President of India

(b) The state's governor

(c) The Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi

(d) Delhi Vidhan Sabha Speaker

Answer a

Explanation: To the President of India

10. Who has the right to set up a High Court in any Union Territory?

(a) President

(b) Supreme Court

(c) Parliament

(d) None of the following

Answer c

Explanation: Parliament

To solve 600+ questions on polity

Show Full Article

Newsletter Signup

Copyright 2018 Jagran Prakashan Limited.