GK Questions and Answers on the Parliament of India

These GK Questions and Answers on Indian Parliament would be of great help to the candidates preparing for various competitive examinations. Parliament is the supreme legislative organ of the Union Government. Take a look below
Created On: Jul 20, 2021 10:45 IST
Modified On: Jul 20, 2021 13:57 IST
Quiz on Parliament of India
Quiz on Parliament of India

The President and the two Houses - the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha constitute the Indian Parliament. India was declared Republic on 26 January, 1950. This was the day when the Constitution of India came into force.  In 1951-52, the first general elections under the new Constitution were held and in April 1952, the first elected Parliament came into existence. Take a look at some GK questions based on the Indian Parliament below. 

1. What is the minimum age for holding office in the Lok Sabha?

  1. 18 Years
  2. 21 years
  3. 25 Years
  4. 30 years

Ans: c

Explanation: Any person to hold the office in the Lok Sabha must be minimum 25 years of age. 

2. A motion of no confidence against the Government can be introduced in:

  1. Rajya Sabha
  2. Lok Sabha
  3. Both a & b
  4. Neither a nor b

Ans: b

Explanation: No Confidence motion is to be introduced in the Lok Sabha or the lower house of Parliament. 

3. How many sessions of the Lok Sabha take place in a year?

  1. 2
  2. 3
  3. 4
  4. 5

Ans: b

Explanation: The Lok Sabha must meet 3 times a year for the Budget session, the monsoon session and the winter session. 

4. Which of the following are not sessions of the Lok Sabha?

  1. Budget Session
  2. Monsoon Session
  3. Summer Session
  4. Winter Session

Ans: c

Explanation: There is no such thing as summer session in Lok Sabha. 

5. The budget is also known as:

  1. Annual Financial Statement
  2. Monthly Financial Statement
  3. Receipt and Expenditure Statement
  4. Taxation Statement

Ans: a

Explanation: The Budget is the annual financial statement provided by the Finance Minister in the Parliament.  

6. The Parliament of India consists of the following:

  1. President
  2. Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha
  3. Both A and B
  4. None of the above

Ans: c

Explanation: The Parliament of India is composed of the President, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha

7. Who decides whether a bill is a Money Bill or not?

  1. President
  2. Prime Minister
  3. Speaker of the Lok Sabha
  4. Finance Minister

Ans: c

Explanation: The speaker of the Lok Sabha has the power to decide whether the bill introduced is money bill or not. 

8. The Federal structure of Government of India provides:

  1. Two-tier system
  2. Three-tier system
  3. Four-tier system
  4. None of the above

Ans: b

Explanation: The federal structure of the Government of India is a three tier system.

9. Who is known as the Father of Lok Sabha?

  1. G V Mavalankar
  2. Rabi Ray
  3. P A Sangma
  4. Balram Jakhar

Ans: a

Explanation: G.V Mavalankar is known as the Father of Lok Sabha.

10. Indian Parliamentary System is based on which model?

  1. Westminster model
  2. Welfare State model
  3. Both a & b
  4. Neither a nor b

Ans: a

Explanation: The Parliament of India is based on Westminster model of Britain. 

500+ GK Questions & Answers on Indian Polity & Governance

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

4 + 8 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Related Categories