History and date of formation of Indian states since 1947

After the bifurcation of the JK into two separate Union Territories; the number of states in India changed to 28 states while the number of Union Territories became 9 which were 7 earlier the bifurcation. In this article we have explained the evolution of the all the Indian states on year by year basis.
Aug 6, 2019 18:26 IST
facebook Iconfacebook Iconfacebook Icon
Indian Map
Indian Map


Before independence, India was divided into 565 princely states. These indigenous princely states believed in independent governance, which was the biggest obstacle in building a strong India.
At this time India had three types of states (1) 'Territories of British India', (2) 'Princely states' and the colonial territories of France and Portugal.

After the Indian independence; 562 princely states had nodded to join the Indian Confederation except Hyderabad, Junagadh, Bhopal and Kashmir.

Since the indian independence the boundaries of the Indian states keep on changing year by year.
From 565 princely states and 17 provinces before partition, to 14 states and 6 Union Territories following the Reorganisation of States in 1956 to 29 states and 7 union territories in 2014, now after the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir to 28 states and 9 Union Territories after it.

1. Jammu and Kashmir (1948): The king of this state signed the "Instrument of Accession" to India and became part of Indian Union. In 1956 J&K completed the process of merging with the Indian Union.

Now this state is bifurcated and Laddakh and J&K are the separate union territories since August 2019.

2. Uttar Pradesh (1950): This state is popular as the land of the powerful empire. Before becoming uttar Pradesh in 1950 it was known as the United Provinces which was united by adding Oudh and Agra regions.

3. Bihar (1950): This state was formed by the english on 22 March 1912 but it got full statehood on 26 January 1950. It was further bifurcated in 2000 and a new state namly Jharkhand was created.

List of Indian States and Union Territories with their Capitals

4.  Assam (1950): Assam became a British protectorate in 1826. Assam was separated from Bengal in 1874. In 1912, it was reformed as Assam province under British rule. Greater Assam included Meghalaya, Nagaland, and Mizoram. It get full statehood on 26 January 1950.

5. Odisha (1950): Orissa was made a separate province on 1 April 1936 by the British and in 1950 became a state. It was renamed Odisha in 2011.

6. Tamil Nadu (1950): Erstwhile the Madras Presidency, was reorganized as a state in 1950 and renamed Tamil Nadu in 1969.

7. Andhra Pradesh (1953): it was given statehood on 1 November 1956. Before becoing a separate state it was the part of state of Madras. The north-western part of Andhra Pradesh was separated to form Telangana on 2 June 2014.

8. Madhya Pradesh (1956): It came into existence in 1956. this state is famous for diamond mining in panna district. It was further bifurcated in 2000 and Chhattisgarh became a new state.

9. Kerala (1956): Former states of Travancore, Cochin, and Malabar were merged together to form the state of Kerala in 1956. It got full statehood on November 1,1956.

10. Karnataka (1956): It was formed as a Mysore State on 1 November 1956. Mysore state was created by bringing together all Kannada speaking regions in 1956. The state was renamed Karnataka in 1973.

11. Maharashtra (1960): Maharashtra and Gujarat was the Part of the state of Bombay Province. On 1 May 1960, the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat were formed as independent states.

12. Gujarat (1960): This state is famous for asiatic lion. it was part of Bombay Presidency in British India but on 1 May 1960 Gujarat was separated and formed as an independent state.

13. Nagaland (1963): This state was formed on 1 December 1963. It is separated from Assam.

14. Punjab (1966): This state was created after the merger of Patiala princely state with eight other similar states.In 1966, Haryana was separated as an independent state from this merger. Chandigarh is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana.

15. Himachal Pradesh (1971): Himachal Pradesh was created with the merger of 30 princely states in 1950, and in 1956, was declared a Union Territory. Himachal Pradesh got full statehood on 25 January 1971.

16. Manipur (1972): Manipur became independence along with India in 1947. In 1956, it became a Union Territory and got full statehood on 21 January 1972. Famous boxer Mary Kom hails from this state.

List of Chief Ministers and Prime Ministers of Jammu and Kashmir

17. Meghalaya (1972): Meghalaya was formed as an autonomous state within Assam in 1970. It became a separate state on 21 January 1972.

18. Tripura (1972): Surrounded by Bangladesh on three sides, Tripura remained a Union Territory till 1972, when it became an independent state.

19. Sikkim (1975): Sikkim; a landlocked state is the second smallest state of India. It is Popularly known as the Organic state of India. Sikkim was merged with the Indian Union on 16 May 1975.

20. Goa (1987): Even after the indian independence this state was under the rule as Portuguese colony but liberated by the Indian Army in 1961 made an Union Territory, along with Daman and Diu. The state of Goa was formed on 30 May 1987.

21 . Arunachal Pradesh (1987): In 1972, it became a Union Territory and in 1987 became an independent state of India with Itanagar as its capital.

22. Mizoram (1987): It got the statehood on 20 February 1987. Initially it was a district of Assam. In 1972 it was declared a Union Territory but Mizo National Front opposed it and later on it got full statehood.

23. Chhattisgarh (2000): This stae was separated from a part of Madhya Pradesh on 1 November 2000.

24. Jharkhand (2000): This tribal dominated state was separated from Bihar and got full statehood on 15 November 2000.

25. Uttarakhand (2000): This state was formed after taking some districts of the Uttar Pradesh by the name of Uttranchal but in 2007, the state was renamed Uttarakhand.

26. Telangana (2014): This was the 29th state of India. It is made by taking some districts of Andhra Pradesh. It got full atatehood on 2 June 2014.

So this was the complete list of all the Indian states along with their relevant history.This information is very useful for all the competitive exams to be held in India.

List of Indian States and their Symbols

What is delimitation and why does the Central Government want to implement it in Jammu and Kashmir?

Related Categories