What is the history of Ashes Series?

Ashes series is a test match series played between England and Australia since last 137 years. This series is played alternatively in these two countries at least once every two years.The Ashes series was started in 1882. Australia has won this series 34 times while England won it 32 times.
Created On: Sep 9, 2019 12:42 IST
Modified On: Sep 9, 2019 12:52 IST
Ashes Series
Ashes Series

Facts about the Ashes Series

Started: 1882–83 (The Oval, England)

Playing Nations:  Australia and England

Administrator: International Cricket Council

Format: Test cricket

Tournament format:   5-match series

Most runs:       Sir Donald Bradman (5,028)

Most wickets:  Shane Warne (195)

Most successful Team:  Australia (34 series wins)

Current trophy holder:  Australia (2019)

Next edition: 2021–22 (Australia)

History of Ashes Series;

The Ashes series was started in 1882 when the Australian team had won the first test by 7 runs on the England soil. This defeat was published as the satirical obituary by the Journalist Shirley Brooks in 'The Sporting Times'. The obituary stated that English cricket had died, and "the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia". So the term 'Ashes' originated satirically.

When the England team went to Australia the same year after this defeat and won the series 2–1, the victory was described as bringing Ash (ash) back to England. From here, the test series between the two countries came to be called the Ashes Series.

The Ashes urn, made of terracotta is reputed to contain the ashes of a burnt cricket bail. The Ashes urn is tall around 15 cm or 6 inches. The winning team keep the Ashes urn as a winning trophy.

About Ashes Test Series

The Ashes series is a test cricket series played between England and Australia since last 137 years. There are 71 ashes series have been played so far and Australia has won this series 34 times while England won 32 times and 5 series drawn.

If i talked about the overall history of Ashes series; it is retained for 81 years by the Australian team while England team retained 56 years. This trophy is kept by the winning team and if the series is drawn then this trophy is kept by the defending champion. The latest ashes series 2019 is won by the Australia.

So this was the history of Ashes series This series is considered as one of oldest test series in the world played between England and Australia.

List of devices used by the Umpires in the Cricket?

Mithali Raj: Biography, Cricket Records, Hobbies and Awards

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Related Categories