List of IPL Winners (2008-2021)

List of IPL winners (2008-2021): Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) while five-time champions Mumbai Indians is so far the most successful team of IPL. Check the complete list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2021 below.
Created On: Dec 1, 2021 14:55 IST
Modified On: Dec 1, 2021 14:59 IST
Chennai Super Kings: IPL 2021 Winner Team
Chennai Super Kings: IPL 2021 Winner Team

IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2021: IPL 2022 is expected to commence from April 2022 in Chennai and will be a 10-team affair. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions while Mumbai Indians (MI) is by far the most successful team of IPL, having won the title five times. 

Ahead of the IPL 2022, let us have a look at the complete list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2021 below. 

IPL Retention 2022: Check the complete list of players retained and released by the franchises

List of IPL Winners and Runner ups 

 Season/Stadium (Final Match)

Winner Team

Runner up Team

Player of the Match

 2008, DY Patil Stadium

 Rajasthan Royals

Chennai Super Kings

Yusuf Pathan

 2009, Wanderers Stadium (South Africa)

 Deccan Chargers

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Anil Kumble

 2010, DY Patil Stadium

 Chennai Super Kings

Mumbai Indians

Suresh Raina

 2011, M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

 Chennai Super Kings

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Murali Vijay

 2012, M. A. Chidambaram  Stadium

 Kolkata Knight Riders

Chennai Super Kings

Manvinder Bisla

 2013, Eden Gardens

 Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings

Kieron Pollard

 2014, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

 Kolkata Knight Riders

Kings XI Punjab

Manish Pandey

 2015, Eden Gardens

 Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings

Rohit Sharma

 2016, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

 Sunrisers Hyderabad

Royal Challengers  Bangalore

Ben Cutting

 2017, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad

 Mumbai Indians

Rising Pune Supergiant

Krunal Pandya

 2018, Wankhede Stadium

 Chennai Super Kings

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Shane Watson

2019, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad  Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Jasprit Bumrah
2020, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai   Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Trent Boult
2021, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai  Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Faf du Plessis

IPL 2021 winner

To date, 14 seasons of the IPL have been held successfully. The final of Vivo IPL 2021 was played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on October 15, 2021.  KKR won the toss and opted to bowl in the IPL final against CSK at the  Dubai International Stadium. CSK beat KKR by 27 runs in IPL to gain their fourth Indian Premier League title.

The 13th edition of the IPL is played in UAE from 19 September 2020 and will be played till 10 November 2020. It was originally scheduled to start on March 29, 2020, but was suspended until April 15 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On August 2, 2020, BCCI announced that the tournament will be played in UAE from  September 19, 2020, to November 10, 2020. 

About Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL or the Indian Premier League is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. Indian Premier League (IPL) is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India. 


Batting (All-Time)
Orange Cap/Most Runs Virat Kohli (5878)
Most Sixes Chris Gayle (349)
Most Sixes (innings) Chris Gayle (17)
Highest Individual Score Chris Gayle (175*)
Highest Strike Rates Andre Russell (182.33)
Highest Strike Rates (innings) Krunal Pandya (500.00)
Highest Averages Ruturaj Gaikwad (51.00)
Most Fifties David Warner (48)
Most Centuries Chris Gayle (6)
Most Fours Shikhar Dhawan (588)
Fastest Fifties (innings) KL Rahul (14 Balls)
Fastest Centuries (innings) Chris Gayle (30 Balls)


Bowling (All-Time)
Purple Cap/Most Wickets Lasith Malinga (170)
Best Bowling Figures

Alzarri Joseph 

(3.4 overs; 12 runs; 6 wickets)

Best Averages Kagiso Rabada (17.86)
Best Economy Rates Rashid Khan (6.24)
Best Strike Rates (innings) Suresh Raina (1.50)
Best Strike Rates (tournament) Kagiso Rabada (13.10)
Most Runs Conceded (innings) Basil Thampi (70)
Most Hat-Tricks Amit Mishra (3)
Most Dot Balls Bowled (tournament) Harbhajan Singh (1,249)
Most Number of Maiden Overs Bowled Praveen Kumar (14)
Most Four Wickets in an Innings Sunil Narine (6)

16 Records you need to know about IPL 2019

How Bowling Speed is calculated in Cricket Matches?

List of highest wicket-takers in Indian Premier League (IPL)


Who has hit most sixes in IPL?

Chris Gayle is the leading six-hitter in the IPL with 349 sixes.

Did RCB won IPL?

The Royal Challengers have never won the IPL. Although RCB finished runners-up on three occasions between 2009 and 2016.

Who is the No 1 team in IPL?

Mumbai Indians hold the current champion title of IPL.

How many times Mumbai Indians has won the IPL?

Mumbai Indians (MI) has won the Indian Premier League (IPL) five times followed by three times winner Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Who won IPL 2021?

IPL 2021 was won by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) while Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were the runner up team.
Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

7 + 4 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.