List of Vice-Presidents in India and their Term of Office

Apr 18, 2018 18:50 IST
List of Indian Vice President

Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that "there shall be a Vice-President of India. Vice-President is elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both houses of the Parliament. State legislature has no role in his election. Vice-President is the ex- officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Qualifications for Vice-President of India:

1.  He must be a citizen of India.

2. He should not be less than of 35 years.

3. Must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.

4. He must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.

5. He should not hold any office of profit.

Indian Polity & Governance: A Complete Study Material

Term of Office: Vice-President is elected for 5 years and is eligible for immediate re- election. However he can be terminated before his tenure through these methods:
(i) Resignation to be addressed to the President (ii) Removal- by a resolution of the council of states passed by the majority of its members and agreed to by the Lok Sabha.

Following is the list of Vice Presidents of India and their term of office:

 S. No.
Vice - President
Took Office
Left Office
 1  Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
 13 May 1952
12 May 1962
Dr. Rajendra Prasad
 2  Dr. Zakir Hussain
 13 May 1962
13 May 1967
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
 3  Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri
 13 May 1967
3 May 1969
Dr. Zakir Hussain
 4  Gopal Swarup Pathak
 1 September 1969
1 September 1974
Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri
 5  Basappa Danappa Jatti
 1 September 1974
25 July 1977
Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
 6  Justice Muhammad Hidayatullah
 25 August 1977
25 July 1982
Shri Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
 7  Ramaswamy Venkataraman
 25 August 1982
25 July 1987
Giani Zail Singh
 8  Shankar Dayal Sharma
 3 September 1987
24 July 1992
Ramaswamy Venkataraman
 9  Kocheril Raman Narayanan
 21 August 1992
24 July 1997
Shankar Dayal Sharma
 10  Krishan Kant  21 August 1997 27 July 2002 Kocheril Raman Narayanan
 11  Bhairon Singh Shekhawat  19 August 2002 21 July 2007 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
 12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari  11 August 2007 Incumbent (serving 2nd term)
Pranab Mujherjee
 13 M Venkaiah Naidu Aug 06, 2017 Incumbent Ram Nath Kovind

List of all President of India from 1947 to 2017