Peacock the National Bird of India: Facts at a Glance

Mar 11, 2016 17:29 IST

Generally most people use the term "peacock" to describe both male and female birds, but peacock is actually a name that refers to male peafowl. Peafowl belong to pheasant family. These birds are native to Asia. There are two species of peafowl: Indian Peafowl and Green Peafowl. Both types are counted in the list of endangered species because of the habitat loss, smuggling and predation. Peacock is the national bird of India.

Dancing Peacock:


Peacock in Mating Position:


Peacocks: Facts at a Glance

1. "Peacock" is commonly used as the name for a peafowl of the pheasant family. But in fact "peacock" is the name for the colorfully plumaged male peafowl only.

2. The females are called peahens; they are smaller and grey or brown in color.

3. Family of peafowl is called "bevy".

4. Group of peafowl is called "party".

5. Beautiful and colorful tails are characteristic only for the males.

6. Only the males are actually “peacocks.”

7. The name of a baby peafowl is a peachick.

8. Peafowl are divided in 3 varieties of, the Indian, the Green and the Congo.

9. Indian peafowl is the most common type of peafowl found in many zoos and parks around the world. It is found in South Asia areas of Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India.

10.  It is the national bird of India.

11.  The main purpose of peafowl of dancing is to attract the peahen and get ready for intercourse.

12. During a display ceremony the peacock will stand its tail feathers up to form a fan that stretches out nearly 2 m in length.

13. Peacock feathers accounts for 60 percent of the bird's total body length and with a wingspan measuring 5 feet.

14. A peafowl can live to over the age of 20 years, the peacocks looks more attractive when  they reaches the age of 5 or 6 years.

15. Peacocks have spurs on their feet, primarily used to fight with other males.

16. Peafowl are omnivorous; they eat many types of plants, flower petals, seeds, insects and small reptiles such as lizards.

17. They can fly, despite their massive tail feathers.

18. They are one of the largest flying birds. Their length (including tail) can reach up to 5 feet. They can weigh between 8-13 pounds.

19. They are omnivores (eat both plants and animals). They like to eat plants, flower petals, seeds, insects, arthropods and amphibians.

20. Their main predators are tigers, leopards, Mongoose. When they sense a danger, they fly and hide in the trees. They spend nights on trees to save themselves.

21. Colors of the tail will look different every time you change the angle of looking because of the reflection of the light. Tail feathers have eye-like spots, surrounded with red, green, gold and red feathers.

22. Peahen chooses its partner by the length, width and coloration of the tail.

23. Peacocks are polygamous (mate with more than one female) and usually form a harem that consists of 2-5 females.

24. Left alone peacocks are very sad and heart-broken.

25. Females lay 3-5 eggs. Young birds will hatch after 28 days.

26. One day old baby peafowl can walk, eat and drink without assistance.