Telangana Formation Day: The 29th State of India

Telangana is the 29th and the youngest state in India. It has a glorious history of at least two thousand five hundred years or more. Let us read more when Telangana state was formed, how it was formed and how Telangana formation day is celebrated.
Jun 1, 2019 11:52 IST
facebook Iconfacebook Iconfacebook Icon
Telangana Formation Day
Telangana Formation Day

Telangana name is derived from the Telugu Angana word, which means a place where Telugu is spoken. In the era of Nizams that is around 1724-1948, they used the word Telangana which differentiate it from the Marathi speaking regions of their kingdom.

Every year Telangana State celebrates the formation day on 2nd June with grandeur and conducts various events, cultural activities etc. The struggle of Telangana to generate a new state began in the early 1950s. Want to read more about the history of Telangana and some unknown facts about it.

Telangana Formation Day: History
- From 1724-1948 around the Nizams used the word Telangana, so that they can differentiate between the Marathi speaking kingdoms of their region.

- The Satvahanas around 230 BC to 220 AD, ruled this region which is located between Krishna and Godavari rivers.

- Under the reign of Kakatiyas around 1083-1203, the region experienced a Golden Age and established Warangal as their capital.

- Allaudin Khilji's general Malik Kafur attacked Warangal in 1309 AD, which led to the decline of the Kakatiyas. Till 1687, the region remains under the Delhi Sultanate. And at this time only Golconda near Hyderabad fell to Aurangabad.

- Nizam-ul-mulk Asif Jah (Asif Jahin Nizam dynasty) in 1799 established freedom and in 1769, he made Hyderabad his capital of the empire.

- British with Nizam Asif Jah signed an alliance in 1799 and due to it Nizam ceded coastal regions of Andhra and Rayalseema to the British.

When and Why British first landed on Indian Territory?

- Till 1946, the region remained under the British and the Nizam of Hyderabad. This is the year also when rebellion was quelled by the Nizam's Razakars or mercenaries.

- After India's Independence (1947), Jawaharlal Nehru and Sardar Patel request the last Nizam of Hyderabad, Osman Ali Khan, to join the Indian Union but after repeated requests he refused. On 17 September, 1948, Indian army annexed Hyderabad and the Nizam surrendered to Sardar Patel. Finally, Hyderabad State accedes to the Indian Union.

- To provide the recommendation for the reorganisation of the State boundaries, in December 1953, The States Reorganisation Commission was appointed. Language of both the states are common but the panel was not in favour of an immediate merger of Telangana with Andhra. But due to the intervention of Jawaharlal Nehru, on 1 November, 1956, Telangana and Andhra states were merged. According to Nehru the merger was a "matrimonial alliance having provisions for divorce".

- The UPA government in 2013 headed by Manmohan Singh clears the formation of Telangana and concluded the process by passing the statehood bill in both the houses of Parliament in Feb 2014.

- In April 2014, General Elections, Telangana Rashtra Samithi emerged victorious by winning 63 of the 119 seats and formed the government. Sri K Chandrashekar Rao was sworn in as the First Chief Minister of Telangana. The Telangana state was inaugurated formally on 2 June, 2014.

How Telangana Formation Day is celebrated?
This day signifies the sustained Telangana Movement history through the years for a separate state. State every year sponsors several events. Telangana State Awards for exemplary contribution in different fields are presented at different events. At several Hotels, Telangana food festivals are organised etc.

Facts about Telangana

Capital- Hyderabad
Official Language - Telugu
Main Language: Urdu, Telugu
Area - approx. 1,14,840 Sq Km
Established on - 2 June, 2014
First Chief Minister- K Chandrashekar Rao (incumbent)
First Governor - E S L Narsimhan (incumbent)
Highest peak - Doli (in Deccan Plateau)

State Symbols of Telangana

State Tree - Jammi Chettu (Prosopis Cineraria)
State Flower - Tangedu Puvvu (Tanner's Cassia)
State fruit - Mango
State Animal - Jinka (Deer)
State Bird - Palapitta (Indian Roller or Blue Jay)

These symbols reflect the culture and tradition of Telangana State and three of them Tangedu flowers, Blue Jay and Jammi Chettu - are associated with the popular festivals of Batukamma and Dasara. While Tangedu flowers are used in stacking of Batukammas, spotting the Blue Jay on Dasara is considered a good omen and people worship Jammi Chettu on that day.

So, now you may have come to know about the Telanga State formation history, when and how it is formed a new state and what the symbols of Telangana State.

Summary of Indian National Movement

Do you know how India got her name as “Bharat”