University of Calcutta, Kolkata

Kolkata, West Bengal

Estd: 1857| Approved By : UGC,AICTE

About Institute

The University of Calcutta is also known as Calcutta University. It is a public state university located in Kolkata, West Bengal. The university was established in the year 1857 by the Act of Legislative Council of British India. It has the distinction of being the first institution in South Asia to be established as a multidisciplinary and western style university. Initially, it began functioning on the pattern of the University of London but eventually introduced its own modifications. At present, there are 168 Colleges Affiliated to Calcutta University, which run graduation degree programs in various streams. Out of these 168 colleges, 19 are self-financed institutes.

Programmes & Courses

Education Loan Offers

  • SBI Bank

  • Axis Bank

  • ICICI Bank

  • HDFC Bank


  • Hostel

  • Library

  • Laboratory

  • Playground

  • Canteen

  • Gym

  • Medical Help

  • Auditorium

  • Scholarship

Coaching Institutes

  • TIME Education

  • Career Launcher

  • IMS Learning Centre

  • BYJU's CAT Classes


Contact Details

1, Reformatory Street

Kolkata, West Bengal - 700027

Find a College