DUSU Election Result 2018: ABVP wins three posts, NSUI bags post of secretary


DUSU Elections Result 2018: Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won the posts of President, Vice President and Joint Secretary in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections. NSUI bagged the post of Secretary. The results for the four posts, elected for one year, were announced late evening. The counting was stopped around 2.30 p.m. due to a glitch in Electronic Voting Machines. The counting resumed around 7 p.m. The polling for Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections at 52 centres took place on Wednesday. About 1.35 lakh students were eligible to cast their votes in DUSU polls this year.

All the major student parties were fighting for the prominent positions. These are the Congress-backed National Students' Union of India (NSUI), RSS's Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP, Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), and the Students Federation of India (SFI) of CPI (M). The elections were held in colleges as well to elect the members of the Central Council. The voting process started yesterday at 8:30 am and concluded at 7:30 pm.

Delhi University Election Result 2018 LIVE Updates:

9:30 PM: ABVP has won posts of president, vice-president and joint secretary. NSUI has won post of secretary

8:00 PM: NSUI candidate Sunny Chillar now ahead of ABVP candidate for president's post

7:50 PM:  Tough fight for post the post of president

7:40 PM: According to reports following candidates are leading now

  • Ankiv Baisoya (ABVP) for president post
  • Shakti Singh (ABVP) for vice-president post
  • Jyoti Chaudhary (ABVP) for joint secretary post
  • Akash Choudhary (NSUI) for secretary post

7:30 PM: After 12 rounds of counting, ABVP leading on three posts. NSUI, CYSS in close contest for secretary post

7:10 PM: Initially NSUI was leading for the president's post and ABVP for vice presidents's post

6:40 PM: Face the results gracefully, ABVP tells NSUI and CYSS

6:30 PM: Security has been beefed up, mobile jammers have also been added 

6:20 PM: "Students and Youth should discern and raise their voice against the brutual execution of the Democracy by ABVP by overthrowing the democratic values, dismissing the mandate of the students, exploiting the power of administration as well as misusing the EVM's," NSUI president Fairoz Khan said in a tweet.

5:30 PM: Counting has started from 7th round

3:30 PM: DUSU election committee sealed all EVMs, put them back in strong room

1:30 PM: According to reports, counting for the DUSU Poll Result 2018 deferred due to malfunctioning of six EVMs.

1:27 PM: NSUI supporters have started protesting, saying that ABVP has meddled with the EVMs because it is "BJP sarkar."

12:52 PM: NSUI is leading in two posts i.e. president and general secretary. ABVP is leading vice president seat.

12:40 PM: Counting stops again. One more faulty EVM found.

12:06 PM: As per the sources, NSUI's Sunny Chillar is leading ahead of ABVP's Ankiv Baisova on the DUSU's presidential post.

11:58 AM: The counting of the votes has resumed again.

11:41 AM: Initial trends suggest, AAP's CYSS has failed to make its mark in the DUSU elections 2018.

11:31 AM: As per the reports of the Indian Express, the display of one EVM machine has malfunctioned and that's why the counting has been put on hold.

11:17 AM: Chief Election Officer Vijay Kaul told IANS that "Everything remained peaceful in the first round of voting. There was no incident of any EVM glitch anywhere."

11:10 AM: Some students might go to jail due to the violation of courts' order.

10:50 AM: According to reports, NSUI candidate is leading on president's post. The BJP-backed ABVP candidates are leading on three other positions i.e. vice president, general secretary and joint secretary.

10:23 AM: National Secretary NSUI, Anushesh Sharma said that the NSUI this year focused on online campaigning and is confident that they would win the election. 

10:12 AM: Yesterday, the voting was held in two shifts. For the morning session, the polling began at 8:30 am, and for the evening session, polling held between (3 to 7:30 pm).

9:59 AM: As per the reports NSUI members have accused ABVP of indulging in violence and terrorising students in Zakir Hussain College. 

9:50 AM: The full list of the winner will be disclosed soon by the officials. Let's see who will win this political battle.

9:42 AM: DUSU election 2018 result will decide the fate of about 23 candidates.

9:35 AM: ABVP candidates Shakti Singh, who is contesting for the post of vice president and Ankiv Baisoya who is contesting for president have arrived at the Community center, Kingsway Camp, Delhi. 

9:20 AM: DUSU elections 2018 recorded the highest voter count in 11 years. Although, the turnout from morning colleges remained low. As per the PTI report, only 33.9 percent voters had cast their vote till around noon.  

9:15 AM: CRPF forces were stationed outside Community Center, Kingsway Camp where the counting of votes is taking place.

9:10 AM: Many students were found complaining about the litter made due to the election campaign pamphlets.

9:05 AM: The Delhi University's elections were held yesterday with a turnout of 44.46%.

8:57 AM: The ABVP candidate wins the president's, secretary's and central council posts in the Zakir Hussain College (Morning) in polls.

8:55 AM: Heavy police deployment was observed yesterday in the voting area, with around 700 personnel of the force stationed in the north campus.

8:50 AM: The ABVP has won 71 seats in 19 colleges. The RSS-affiliated party won in various colleges, including Hindu College, Shri Ram College of Commerce, Kirori Mal College, Bhagat Singh (Morning), Zakir Hussain (Morning), Dyal Singh (morning) colleges in Wednesday's poll.

8:43 AM: One of the members of the Congress-backed NSUI said the DUSU elections are like the "semi-final for the Lok Sabha elections and will show what the young, educated voter wants".

8:36 AM: As per the reports, the campaigners have been getting support from the students outside the state.

8:30 AM: The counting has begun.

8:15 AM: There are common agendas in each party's manifesto. Like the women safety, installation of sanitary napkins and gender sensitisation.

8:00 AM: The vote counting will begun at 8:30 at Delhi University for the DUSU Polls Result 2018.

As per our sources, about 700 electronic voting machines (EVMs) have been installed in 52 centers.  The CYSS and left-wing students' outfit All India Students Association (AISA) are jointly contesting the DUSU polls. From 2015, the year when AAP came into power,  its student's wing had unsuccessfully contested the DUSU polls. The Delhi High Court had directed the Central government, Delhi University and the city police in July to ensure no defacement of public property during the upcoming Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections. The court direction's came when it was informed that the DUSU elections were likely to be held in September.


Copyright 2018 Jagran Prakashan Limited.