Union Cabinet approves introduction of bill to give four NIDs status of Institutions of National Importance

Published on : Sep 12, 2018 19:43 IST

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday gave its approval for introduction of a bill in Parliament to amend National Institutes of Design (NID) Act, 2014 to include four new such centres within the ambit of this law, and to declare them as institutions of national importance. The four new NIDs, which will be included, are in Amaravati, Bhopal, Jorhat, and Kurukshetra. "The Union Cabinet has given its approval for introduction of Bill in Parliament for amendment of NID Act 2014" to include the four new NIDs within the ambit of the Act and to declare them as Institutions of National Importance (INIs) at par with the NID Ahmedabad," an official statement said.

The statement said that some minor amendments to the Act will include re-naming of NID Vijayawada as NID Amaravati and nomenclature of the principal designer as equivalent to Professor are also proposed in the bill. "Establishing new NIDs as institutions of national Importance in different regions will help produce skilled manpower. It will also help create job opportunities, both direct and indirect, by providing sustainable design interventions for crafts, handloom, rural technology, small, medium and large scale enterprises; and outreach programmes for capacity, capability and institution building," it added.

In India, institutions which develop highly skilled personnel within the specified region of the country or state are given the status of an Institute of National Importance. Only a chosen few institutes make it to this coveted list and are usually supported by the government or even any other international institutes to develop centers of excellence in research, academics, and other such elite schools of education.

Register For Education News
Roll Number
Mobile Number
Email ID
Your Location
What you wish to study
What stream you wish to study?
Your Stream
Study Mode